You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #23 What is it? First to guess right wins! 3 SBI SHARES up for GRABS!

in #whatisit6 years ago

My first thought was that it was some part of a Lady Gaga costume but @quillfire already beat me to that and with an absolutely incredible explanation which included reverse engineering, mapping and triangulation... pure genius.

I can say with absolute certainty that the picture is a small portion of one of my late Grandmothers coffee table doilies. Pretty sure it was the same doily she kept the bowl of Christmas ribbon candy in pretty much all year round.

()

Sort:  

@jbreheny,

There a special place in Poets' Heaven for anyone who still utilizes the word, "doilies" in a sentence. It's a good word ... but one wonders where it originated.

"Bertha, dear, do be a darling and pass me that ... um ... you know, that (pointing at the sidetable) ... what is it called? 'Doily' ... I suppose. Please pass me that doily."

Quill

Based on my quick research it was the name of a 17th century draper. I could probably dig a little deeper but I felt a little dirty just using the word to begin with and researching any more on the word is a rabbit hole I prefer not to go down.

Now if you'll excuse me I have to go help my wife find the perfect blouse.

@jbreheny,

17th century draper ... who knew? Because your wife calls it a "blouse," it costs twice as much as your "shirt." :-)

Quill

My wife actually laughs at me when I use the word blouse but my mother and grandmother used to use it all the time. Sometimes I feel like such a relic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30