I hope that Whaleshares will make it easier for minnows to focus their energy on content.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #whaleshares7 years ago (edited)

DQmVdasySZRuUiEKwjzx7Pu9pKygZfzVEJjTxr2fGYtsmFB_1680x8400.png

Now I would be lying if I said I entirely understood how Whaleshares works. After the trauma of two consecutive computers that went blue screen straight out of the box, I spent many years distancing myself from technology and I am just now learning about crypto and the implications it has for the future.

That being said, everything I read about whaleshares from @officialfuzzy and @jphenderson leads me to believe it will be a great tool for promoting equality and opportunity for minnows on steemit and I can totally get behind something like that.

I have believed for most of my life, that this idea that we must compete to survive was a little ridiculous, considering we are a species that is able to create such an abundance for some that most of it goes to waste. I found this perceived dichotomy between "selfishness" and "selflessness" to be entirely imagined.

The more I came to realize how deeply we are all connected, that at some level, we are truly one being, the more I could see clearly that selfishness and selflessness were two sides of the same coin. The only win is a win-win. If I just think about myself, I will never be truly fulfilled and if I think only of others, I will invite my own demise and lose the ability to continue helping others.

A true sense of community is built upon the desires of the members, and I sense there are many others like myself here, who are happy to benefit personally but whose main purpose for doing so is to be in a place where they can easily contribute to the collective. When I got here, seeing my upvote worth virtually nothing was pretty disheartening, especially when I realized there were some who could add $20 of value with the very same click of a mouse. I saw that some were investing money and that's where they gained their whale super powers. The first whale I encountered was very kind, but I noticed that there were many more people in the same boat as me, feeling virtually powerless in the community, and many of them distracted by their desire to gain the attention of whales. I noticed this most visibly in myself as I thought about how to gain the most SP in the shortest amount of time, not having any money to invest in the platform myself. This made me question what was really going on here.

I want to create just to create. I want to do good just for the sake of doing good. I want things to be fun and easy and rich and honest, for myself and for everyone else. I see no reason for your well-being and self-realization to compete with mine. The longer I stay here (I'm just starting my 3rd week), the more I find minnows and whales who are brainstorming ways to build a strong sense of community where everyone can be themselves and everyone benefits.

By sharing some of the whale power, it can really speed things up for someone with lot's to offer and good intentions. It will make it easier for s minnows to focus all their energy on sharing good content rather than being compelled to search for ways to kiss the right asses. That's how I feel after hearing what Fuzzy has to say, anyway.

You can help me to win 500 whaleshares by upvoting my comment linking to this post at
This post

(thanks to @kevinwang for this naughty whale logo, it's my first choice)

Sort:  

I am not too positive about whaleshares. I wrote quite an elaborate reply about it here.

I'm basically scared that, once they hit open (Steemit) market, there'll be many whale votes for random content, just because someone had such a token. Cat picture? I'll upvote this with my token! One food picture? Definitely deserves my token and a massive whale upvote!

People who are already frustrated that the posts they've worked hard on go unnoticed, will get even more frustrated to see content like that getting a lot of payout, while their detailed recipe post with step-by-step pictures gets $0.01. It already happens now and I worry that it'll just happen more with whaleshares.

I can see your point. I do need to learn more about how they plan on implementing it. Have you heard anything from fuzzy addressing your concerns after that longer reply you made?

If there is some method in place to keep whaleshares going to users who have community and substance in mind, I think it will be a great thing. If they just go to the highest bidder or people who know how to navigate the system, probably not. But I see these thoughts seem to be a common theme in discussions about whaleshares so I am hopeful.

I did not get a reply on it yet, sadly... was hoping someone there would convince me of the use of it.

He seems quite swamped. You can try the discord chat if you want to reach him, he's slow to reply but he usually does there. you can talk to @jphenderson (TheWalrus) too, he seems quite involved in the project and he is really helpful.

I hope it is soon ok

Here ... here you got my 100% minnow share.

Totally ultra super appreciated! Right back at you!

Thanks. I've been so busy with my other project on steemit I've neglected my blog. I can't believe I even forgot to follow you. But that's all fixed now. Keep up the great work > You're a jem on a steemer!
giphy (4).gif

Congratulations @whatamidoing! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Everyone makes mistakes. I'm sure Kevin is cool with it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73