Presenting the Whaleshares Court (Contest Entry Drawing with 15 Progress Pictures)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #whaleshares7 years ago (edited)

If it pleases the Royal Court, I hereby present you with my humble portrait drawing of the Whaleshares Royal Family.

A few days ago I came across a drawing contest for Whaleshares, the keepers and distributors of the coveted Whaleshare upvote tokens. I had already taken on a few drawing and photography contests by @tonyr, @nspart, and @daveks, as well as @merej99's massive community building challenge (The Beast), so I figured... I'm already in contest mode, why not?

I read through the contest rules and the background information on each member of The Court. That night, July 11, I did a quick sketch on paper to kinda wrap my head around the scope of this next challenge. I knew I wanted to add subtle humor into it and didn't want to forget my ideas. The next day I decided I would go for it and announced my intent over on @stargarden's post for the contest.

It took me 2 nights to complete the drawing and coloring. Here is my entry... Enjoy!

WhalesharesCourt-Final.jpg

The Whaleshares Royal Court members in my drawing:



His Royal Highness, Walrus the Wizard King
@jphenderson

Patelincho the Red Queen
@patelincho

The God Emperor Fuzzy
@officialfuzzy

The High Royal Knight Sir Akrid
@akrid

Baron Stargarden the Tripping
@stargarden

Nico, Royal Guard of NSFW
@nspart


My Work in Progress Pictures:

WhalesharesCourt-01.jpg
My initial concept sketch from July 11th.

WhalesharesCourt-02.jpg
Drawing in the background setting.

I know this step seems a bit odd, drawing in a throne room, most of which will not be seen in the final image and I will have to erase it all as I go. This is something I need to do for me, other artists may not, but I have trouble getting the scale and proportions of people if I don't have relative items nearby. So at each step, with each new character added, I would erase the background areas to make a clean space to draw them in.

Yep, there's my trusty Publix pencil. Cranking though many drawing contests together. The eraser is wearing down though, so the Halloween pencil will fill in for that.

WhalesharesCourt-03.jpg
Patelincho the Red Queen

WhalesharesCourt-04.jpg
His Royal Highness, Walrus the Wizard King

WhalesharesCourt-05.jpg
The High Royal Knight Sir Akrid

WhalesharesCourt-06.jpg
The God Emperor Fuzzy and the Royal Guard of NSFW

WhalesharesCourt-07.jpg
Baron Stargarden the Tripping

WhalesharesCourt-08.jpg
Night 2 - Time to start coloring... His Royal Highness first, of course.

WhalesharesCourt-09.jpg
His Royal Highness, Walrus the Wizard King looking sharp in his Royal Robe.

WhalesharesCourt-10.jpg
Patelincho the Red Queen and The God Emperor Fuzzy dropping his stash.

WhalesharesCourt-11.jpg
Nico, Royal Guard of NSFW throwing down some attitude.

WhalesharesCourt-12.jpg
Baron Stargarden the Tripping, Party Jester playing it cool.

WhalesharesCourt-13.jpg
Adding in the background shading and details.

I left the coloring of The High Royal Knight Sir Akrid for last because I wasn't sure how dark I wanted to make his armor. I knew I wanted to base that on how the background coloring and shading came together.

WhalesharesCourt-14.jpg
Sir Akrid showing respect... Sign It, Tag It, Post It!

As with all of my drawing, the last step is to go back add in additional shadows, darken the colors, and add back in any details that got lost from the color pencils.



The God Emperor Fuzzy is often portrayed across Steemit as hoarding his coins, building and protecting the Whaleshares stash in order to share the wealth with others at a later time. I wanted to play on that idea by having the bag holding his coins rip open without him noticing. Both Walrus the Wizard King and the Royal Guard of NSFW noticed this and are looking over in his direction. Nico playing it cool, the Wizard King is not amused.

Patelincho the Red Queen is staring directly at you, it's a warning, what she says - goes. Oh, and be warned... touch the Walrus and she'll KILL YOU!

The sign over the corridor to the NSFW area is intentionally only showing SFW. This is a supportive nod to Nico @nspart for his part in moderating the discord channel and the idea that tastefully done artistic nude photography or drawings of the human body should not be considered offensive or censored. The statues of Venus de Milo or David are not covered in black tape.



Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

God damn, that's some serious art bro

Thank you Andreas, I'm happy you like it. Took a bit of effort but it was worth it.

I like how you hid the Steem logo in there.

Thanks Matt, I tried to get it in there a few times wherever it fit in.

LOL Very cool and creative!

Thanks Nico, I had to get you in as one of the characters in the Royal Court. It seemed fitting to show my support for what you do in the picture.

Oh wow, that's a great idea and I love how you fulfilled it:)

Thank you Inber - I had fun putting this one together.

@steempowerpics, you are a truly talented artist my friend and your posts are always incredibly well presented and informative. You are heading to the moon yourself at this rate. :) Good luck in the whaleshares contest and the others as well! :)

Thank you Tony. I appreciate it. It's been fun the last week, but getting a bit crazy on time. I'm trying my luck at a few different things at the same time. I still going to try to get a lion drawing done if I can squeeze that in. I went back over to your post page to vote for all the new entries - so many good ones now.

This is super neat! You have many talents, wow!
Hope you and yours had a lovely day :)

Thank you. I'm having fun with all the contests. I will have to invest in some better color pencils and drawing paper if I keep this up. The fine details get lost with crayola kid pencils. lol

You made those kid pencils work for you! I couldn't draw even with a mont blanc in my hand lol

LOL that's funny.

WHOA, this is SO GOOD!
I agree with everyone here. You've got some serious talent. Really. There's nothing much more to say. wow. Blown away.

also, @aggroed new post on witness, reward pool, has some info with the decay and all we were discussing yesterday. I have read a lot from witnesses' posts about the reward pool drain, general crypto correction, and all the comment upvoting putting stress on the system and thinning the reward pool too. It's interesting.

Cool! I'll have to visit @aggroed's page and snoop around for info.

Thank you Meredith :-) It took some effort, but it came together nice. I have to thank Tony for all the drawing entries I did for him, helped get my skills back up to speed.

#Both hands up. Salute. You are dope artist. Love your strokes, the shading got me.

The way the composition was arranged also got me. Bad ass artist @steempowerpics

Thank you Dean, I appreciate the positive feedback. The last few weeks have been great, Steemit contests have helped me get involved with some of my skills I haven't used in many years.

If you saying you haven't used these mad skills in years, I wonder what would have been if you have been practicing @steempowerpics

lol, thanks. My wife said the same thing when I completed this drawing.

She's right... You got talent.. Seen some practicing artist work not as dope as this

Thank you Dean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67