We are not meant to remain steemit minnows forever!

in #whaleshares7 years ago (edited)

steemit_network.jpg

We are not meant to remain minnows forever!


Certainly, growth is in our nature and I don't intend to remain in a fishbowl.
I know there is an ocean of ideas and adventure, perhaps I will be content with the dolphin or orca status, if not, then whales are on my path! 😁

This is merely a friendly suggestion for all of us swimming in the fish-pond:

You should realize your "followers" are more than a silent audience worshiping you as an idol.
No - you should be following them too!
Some, if not most, of them will share content that has value for you - so this should be a network rather than a one-way street.

  • Look often at your scroll-down list of followers to find the ones you are not following and if you don't have a good reason for not following them, then go ahead and click on follow. You can always un-follow later if their content is inappropriate or doesn't resonate with you.
  • Security is your key! LOL, apologies for the cheesy pun. Private keys are the mechanism granting access to EVERYTHING, currency transfers, login, posting, etc.

So You Wish To Be A Whale?

Here are some things I didn't know!!!

But wish I had known.
In fact, I think every applicant for steemit should know this before being granted a password and notified again after successful first login!

*(These are my words and not a cut & paste job, so if I misinterpreted the vocabulary please put the corrections in the comments.)

Steemit.com social media is a blockchain-cryptocurrency-banking-platform.
That is my revelation, and I didn't know this before I was granted a password.
But now that I see it this way, I can adapt and respond appropriately.

steemit.com gave you a password and if you are a newb like me you didn't know it was part of the blockchain (FinTech), and you probably compromised its security with the use of the password.
So what I looked into was how to re-secure my portal to the blockchain (the keys to the vault with my ledger and cryptocurrency).
By the time you read this I will have changed my steemit password, gathered my private keys and implemented high security for my steemit blockchain vault.
WOW, I don't even login anymore!
With your private keys you can do this too.

Use Your Profile Page Often


Here is one amazing guy named "jesta" @jesta
He wrote program code that added new features to steemit, Awesome!

...

Manage Your Security Personally


Please view the video below and read:
We just hacked 11 accounts on Steemit! ~$21 749 in STEEM and SBD is under our control. But we are good guys 😇 So...
The reading is challenging to comprehend but the video wraps it all up and together we minnows now understand the dangers lurking the deep oceans on steemit and cryptocurrency platforms!


Title: Steemit Video Tutorials - Understanding Permission Keys
Video posted 22 Jul 2016 by Michael Pair

Congratulations!
You are on your way to leaving the protected fishbowl and swim with the whales; be careful of sharks and fraud that will attempt to by pass your security measures!
Remember, you have a bank now with a secure vault - treat it appropriately.

There is much more I wanted to write but this post is getting long, so I will conclude it here.
I hope you find this information useful and share it with others.

FOLLOW back, I will reciprocate by UPVOTE or RESTEEM your posts that I think my followers would support. That's the only way for our community to grow and its needed. Please comment, I will reply.
Thanks for the FOLLOW, and thank you for being here!
I look forward to hearing more from you in the future. ~Ron

If you like this post, do not forget to upvote or follow me or resteem

Sort:  

great article thanks for the insight!

Thanks!
I see you in the fishbowl with me :)
Welcome to steemit.
Can we exchange following posts where we follow each other?

PS:
Not sure if you are eligible for these giveaways, but please check them out:
https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@ronmamita/observations-from-a-3-day-old-steemit-minnow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86