How Whales could Save Steem

in #whales8 years ago

I recently figured out something about Steemit(and Steem), that I apparently had completely wrong. “No concern about the website owner going bankrupt and closing the page.” … “The original poster could add a comment with specific formatting that would activate a correction from the presenting website.” Thanks to Steemit releasing the code, I now know I was wrong. Why come up with some convoluted method for error correction if the website is the one holding all the comments and posts? I now know for a fact that I could go back and change what I have posted. But, I won't be changing the content only correcting the grammar or spelling.

So how does this all apply to Whales saving Steem and Steemit?
If Steemit is holding the information and not the block-chain Steem, than that means any website can tap Steem for interactions with users. Whales could build websites handing out Steem Power to newcomers. Then we would also gain the benefits of Facebook private groups...

Sure it was a letdown to realize the posts and responses are centrally stored, and not on some form of Blockchain. But on the upside, it means Whales can start websites that also help Steemit by acting as a mirror for the data while also supporting more uses of Steem. Yes, I realize that Steemit most likely has many mirrors to support the high traffic. What I would like to see is some way to compensate efforts of people who make mirrors, so Steemit is not forced to pay for all the mirrors themselves. I find myself using Steemd.com too often.

Sort:  

Nice @luke490
Shot you an Upvote :)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 10.1 and reading ease of 58%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40