I Am Pissed Off With The Favoritism On Here

in #whales8 years ago


Seriously. I am happy for all the Women who made off Steem, I think they deserve it, what I dislike is a little tiny Krill like me puts effort into content and get nothing in return unless we go with the status quo and write things whales like such as whales are awesome and we need to stop complaining posts, when the big mammals could be contributing more towards stuff unrelated to steemit; i.e news or nature which don't get much love or the Bitcoin tag.

They have the same amount of energy and time poured into them. Why the FUCK do the little fish have to suffer? Whales IMO, should be up-voting every topic category on steemit so long as it is a quality post with equal amount of vigor as they do on the steemit or introduceyourself tag. The fact that someone can get paid out in less than 24 hours in SBD and cash out 4 figures with little work seems cool to me, why not let other bloggers get the chance too?

Let me put it another way. If I post this blog for instance, I know it won't get up-votes unless I get enough up-votes which means more replies and it is like a feeding frenzy on steemit once it hits the trending page. Thing is, maybe I don't want the money too much, what if I just want replies and a discussion like on reddit or medium? At this point, where is the incentive to post amazing creative content if it is just money itself? Why can't the default page be responses instead of trending? Aka how much money and comments someone had? How many readers are going to bother going to the drop down menu and click on responses just to see where the voices are partaking and not where the is being made on the trending home page? 

Why can't I easily turn off the amount of money some makes on a post? This is annoying, and takes quality away from steem as it is just a circlejerk now of who writes the best for the steemit crowd. I don't want to see that and it should be off as default as it also just makes people jealous.

Which brings me back to me. Am I jealous? Yes. But that is not the right word. I am FRUSTRATED that I can't be given a following or voice unless some kind whale throws me a bone, which hits the front page which in turn gives me finally, the publicity of the steemit crowd in replies what i am really looking for.

But it should not be about that, and I am ready to take a break from steem until this gets fixed or we move into up-vote equality for all. I shouldn't have to example, buy 4000 SP just to upvote my worthless posts so others feed into the circle jerk money post. I see that could be annoying as well which means more wading through shitty content to get the gold.

I don't know what the hell is gonna happen to this site but I will keep a close eye and remember this:

Sort:  

its like in high school, all the popular kids click up and ignore the other kids

I didn't think you were that cynical, Craig. :)

I had to serach google to find what "cynical" means, and it's the same as being self centered, but from a judgmental point of view, and I am very self centered :)

i have to agree that the focus seems to be on getting that killer post, and not on the posts themselves. It still has a long way to go - as you point out, "beta" and all, but I can see some value in making the $$$$ off by default.

Thanks for all the comments everyone! Really what I was hoping for not just upvotes. Thanks. At least we can discuss this.

Agreed, same old politics; no room for the new kids!!

It's often very hard to find good content ... give us a link to your posts that you worked hard on and then we can take a look.

I've found some phenomenal fiction that has been on here for WEEKS that I missed. I go back and read one story a day or try to at least.

I don't want my stuff looked at like this, if someone stumbles upon it and likes the content fine, if I link it here I feel it is artificial since I was ranting, if I suddenly got a comment or upvote on something different, just because someone took pity on me instead of actually liking my content with no bias attatched to it.

I apprectiate your intent though.

If you don't advocate and sell yourself, who will ?

@cattyboy, just hang in there.Not sure why but I just felt I have to respond to your post. I have been on Steemit for only about three weeks and sometimes it feels frustrating, and then all of a sudden you get a hit from a whale which makes it worthwhile from a monetary perspective... It is however not all about the money. At this point it is all about building a reputation. For example: I was recently featured in a post from @cryptogee Spotlight which gave me a lot of hope. I am building some friends around here steadily. Another good post which trended today should also give you hope. Read @liberosist post about the Spreading of the SteemPower. Lastly have a look at @piedpiper 's Post About Satisfaction on Steemit / Like I said just hang in there, build a reputation, make some friends here. Good Luck and all the best

I offer help(honestly):
read this:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@minion/relationship-between-minnows-and-steem-whales-explained-in-a-animated-gif
and join this:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@minion/steemit-originals-who
after you do those, I hope to see a message form you on the steem chat. :)
There is a way!

@cattyboy, I feel your frustration too.
It's possible that as the community grows, things may improve... at least I'm hoping they will.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 7.8 and reading ease of 78%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99