You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWhales Update | Discover who are currently the best authors and curators

in #whales8 years ago

This is very nice work. I would like to point out one particular problem I see from your stats. I read many discussions about voting rewards. I think is more than clear that almost all of the whales are using bots. Some of them are using one primary bot which is like a core up-voter. the second group of bots are following this primary bot. (one user - few accounts).

Till now , problem is small. The big problem arises once other whales do not want to keep attention of content. If the whale is successful in gaining rewards, other whales think that is much easier to follow primary up-voter (bot) than find a good content. (too much work)

And this is a big thing of whole steemit. The bots follows the bots and those follows the other bots. Huge army of bots is voting for same content. And the result is something what I found in your stats. There are some participants who produce regular scam. They know it. All people can see it. I am not able to understand why the whales are doing this. Why they follow and support scam producers who do not create any value.

For me is at least curious. I am ok with my activity because it is not time consuming. I write because I like it. What I see is tremendous amount of work of some people who are proper content creators. They have tons of followers with no SP. Some of they might be desperate and ready to leave steemit.

I would like to ask especially you. I think that http://steemwhales.com/ is best tool created by by one person with no SP (if I understand well). This is the huge contribution to community. Why do you think that whales are willing to follow scam producers over real content creators? Is that something like old habit from early phases of the project. Do you think they know what they are doing. do you see any solution as a content creator?

thanks

Sort:  

Thank you for the nice comment. The problem you mention exists but is completly taboo.

I recently tried to voice my opinion about this kind of horseshit on the french community, where some american author with a google-translate level of french language recently posted a very succesful serie of posts (probably the most succesful ever in 'french' language). Oh of course I got instantly downvoted by the american author and his whale friend (who have huge reps compared to mine). My comment got blacked out and even some real french people defended the american to get an upvote worth 11 cents.

In any case, I have no doubt the whales are driven by profit, and that's perfectly normal. As long as we don't start seeing real humans on top of the curation score, it will mean the curation system is broken - and consequently the rewards for posts are broken too.

Another problem is the current distribution of steem power, which is even worse than the distribution of fiat money in the world. The steem power inflation is so high that even if you widthdraw non stop, your SP keeps growing, so the whales stay on top, even when they widthdraw.

The devs of the steemit hq however are much more invested in STEEM to give up on the system. With the upcoming change to 5 votes per day (in 0.14), it will probably help humans a bit, we will see. We need to remember that STEEM is an experiment and give it a bit of time...

Thank you for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80