George M Cohan in Times Square

in #whalepower7 years ago

who is George M Cohan and why is his statue in Times Square

1DF07E7F-CAB5-45E2-9893-1EB1D4E7339D.jpeg

If you have ever visited Times Square you most likely have seen this statue of George M Cohan, by Artist Georg John Lober.

The Statue was cast and Dedicated back in 1959, the area it is located is known as Duffy Square, which I only learnt when looking up who this statue is of.

CE8F0236-A779-4428-A7B4-5048B628C255.jpeg

So I asked myself who is this guy and why is statue in such a prime bit of street in NYC, well sadly and not surprisingly I had no clue and didn't answer myself, so I instead asked google who was able to provoked some useful information.

George M Cohan, was an American Playwright, composer, lyricist, actor, singer, dancer and producer, quite a multi talented gent it seems.

His career started young when as a child he performed with his parents and sisters in a vaudeville act known as the four Cohans.

Beginning in 1904 with Little Johnny Jones, he wrote, composed, produced and appeared in three dozen Broadway Musicals, which learning this makes sense ot me why his status is in this location surrounded by the Broadway theatres

He went on to Publish more than 300 Songs , he was known in the decade before World War 1 as “the Man who owned Broadway” and he is often considered the father of American Musical Comedy.

I am glad I took the time to do some research on him quite an achievement and mark on the Musical and theatre business he surely was.

All photos on this blog are taken by myself, mostly with a Sony Mirrorless camera

If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest post
Or Chat with us on Gamma Syndicate on Discord

JJ steemit banner without steemusa.jpg

!steemitworldmap 40.757292 lat -73.985863 long Times Square NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=george-m-cohan-in-times-square


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I'm a big theater fan so I know who George M Cohan is. When I saw the title of this post, "You're a Grand Old Flag" immediately came to my mind. Great shots!

I remember that coming up when I was researching , :)

thanks for the visit

Great post and I didn't know who George m Cohan was eather 😉 Love the statue and amazing shots dear.

Thanks My friend was very happy with the shots i got of him :)

You should they are amazing 😎 you've done it again.... Lol

Thanks my friend so kind of you :)

As always you make it easy dear 🤗

Wow! Beautiful shots and great information!

Thanks kindly my friend

You are welcome!

I didn’t know who he was either, but it seems he had an impressive career!

Didn’t he just achieved so much

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Time for a new - > Breaking News!

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67020.32
ETH 3084.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70