You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Shoot- A Short Story. My Entry for We-Write #5

in #wewrite5 years ago

I liked that you are trying to portray how the industry looks from inside out.

Your style is a bit difficult for me as you use several expressions that I was not familiar with. But I am learning.

I was a bit confused about the gender of Penny. My first guess was that Penny is a girl. But in the following snippet, you are calling her "an actor" instead of "an actress".

Alexa saw the shoot, appalled at how the actor was treated. Shouted at, positioned by hand and made to do flaps and hops facing this way and that.

More so, later on in the scene, there are all the references for her or him being gay. Considering the popular nowadays concept of fluid gender, I was confused.

Otherwise, as I said, this story paints a more statistically realistic picture and I enjoyed that thoroughness. Good job!

Sort:  

@mgaft Thank you for the praise and for taking the time to write such a nice response. Actors can be male female or otherwise. Acting is a job description like a cop, a pilot, a driver, etc. So to do away with gender bias (and use less alphabets- pure laziness) this is OK.
And being gay, any of the below fit.

dded.png

Ah.. then a female could be an actor as well but not vise versa. Huh? A man cannot be an actress. LOL

Thank you!

Well since you mention it- some men are really good actresses. HEE HEE

Screen-Shot-2014-06-08-at-18.04.36.png

Ahahah...

Yeah, English is mostly a gender-neutral language except for some words like king-queen, father-mother, tiger-tigress, poet-poetess, steward-stewardess and so on. But as you mentioned even these words in certain context could be used inversely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56953.07
ETH 2513.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28