The host has something to tell!! a We-Write

in #wewrite5 years ago

Dear friends

Now I participate in the weekly WeWrite challenge, here we must complete a story given by the proposed prompt. This week @ntowl offers us the first part of the story "The host", from there I wrote the following "Something to tell". I hope you enjoy reading.

8wchee.png
Image Source

This Week's Prompt

The Host
by @ntowl

The silver orb gleamed in the light. Resting on a long metal tube extending from a circular base, nothing had ever terrified Jonathan more. He glanced at the clock. Three minutes left. He rolled his chair closer to the desk, grasped the tube in his right hand, and pulled the orb closer. A wave of heat flashed through him and he dabbed his forehead with a towel in his left hand. The roaring in his ears grew louder as he double checked the status on the monitors. A quick high-pitched but not unpleasant beep, beep, beep broke through the noise in his head.

"Two minutes to go Jonny. Ads are rolling now, I'll start your introduction when they end. You'll go live immediately after, just like we rehearsed yesterday," Steven's calm voice came through the headphones Jonathan wore.

He nodded, eyes wide.

"Jonny? You there bud?"

"Yes."

"We must have an audio issue. I can barely hear you. Damn! I knew we should have run a few more tests. Ok, give me a sec-"

"It's ok," Jonathan said louder, and swallowing hard. "I-I just lost my voice there a bit." He dabbed his face and released his death grip on the microphone. It's shiny surface reflected a distorted version of himself stretched around the sphere, broken in spots by the mesh that let his voice travel through.

"Yeah, that's better. Look, I know it's your first live show and your nerves are probably on edge."

You have no idea, Jonathan thought as his heartbeat began pounding in his ears.

"Everyone's nervous their first time. But you're here for a reason, remember that," Steven paused, "Time check, thirty seconds. Take a couple of deep breaths, shake out the nervousness and be ready to go at the end of your intro. We've already got ten calls on hold for you. They warned me you'd be popular! No catching up on my reading during your show. Time check, fifteen seconds. You got this bud, right?"

"Yes. Yes I do," he said sitting up taller in his chair, dabbing his forehead again. "No problem at all..."

"Awesome! Remember I'm here for you behind the scenes, keep an eye on the system chat in the bottom left corner of the screen. Time check, intro rolling..."

The bumper music played in his ear and a man with an unbelievably deep voice told the audience how lucky they were to be listening to the internet radio station KFLY and their newest host. The introduction ended and Jonathan miraculously became Jonny.

"Hey everyone. This is Jonny James on KFLY radio and I'm so glad you could join us for the premier of Everything and Anything. I'd like to jump right in and take some calls rather than bore you with the overly pedantic babbling I tend to do. Sooooo, Caller one. Tell us your name, where you're from, and whatever it is you want to share tonight."

9y99uo.png

Image Source

Extending the story:
Something to tell
@felixgarciap´s ending

"We are attentive now receiving the first call"

"Hi, I'm from Kansas from a town where our pride is raising cattle."

"What cattle did you raise? Hahaha"

"Only sheep on my little property."

"Interesting you have earned a ticket to contemplate the sky."
....

"Central please Second call"

"Hello, I call from San Antonio"

"San Antonio, Texas?"

"Yes"

"And there, what do they raise?"

"Cows of all colors."

"Interesting"

"Do they give milk?"

"Headaches only."

"Well, for you to take it off listen to this music from the Abba group."
.....

"Call"

"Hi, I come from a strange place. I don´t know its name,
Here we raise unicorns in the moonlight."

"Very interesting, you will be that you have dreamed it."

"No, it turns out that the unicorn is you
Hurry to place another music."

Hung up the call.

"Gentlemen already realize that here we have a collection of fools, let's see, for the next round I hope the wasps come out.

Cut."

So Johnny thought, was the Unicorn he had in his dream last night, surprised that he received that message just on his first radio program.

So alarmed he left the work of the station.

That was definitely not for him.


........
The end
.........

gaodhu.png
Image Source

I invite this challenge to my friends @sacra97, @marybellrg, @amart29 and @hlezama.

Waiting for your upvotes , comments and resteem.

@felixgarciap

Make sure you visit the Freewrite House!!!

vligzqbvnf.png

@freewritehouse

lusdo0fhf2.png

Sort:  

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 64.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

Gracias por la invitación @felixgarciap

Jonny's dream entered his caller stream? Oh that would be so creepy. I like the words that caller said though, poetic words.
He couldn't take it. I wonder what he dreamt of that night. Cows? Sheep? No it think more like a centaur, or pixies.
Nice entry! Thanks for writing with us!

I like your way of closing this story, @felixgarciap. Nice to see you branching out and trying new things.

@tipu curate


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Aw, I thought he was doing so well... Haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80