You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Them

in #wewrite5 years ago

Love this, very clever. Myself, I can't be doing with all this gender-neutral nonsense. Let people call themselves what they want to and identify as anything they damn well like, but please, don't ask me to get involved with it. There are surely more pressing, real issues.

Sort:  

I was recently in a class discussing the work of a trans-woman by referring to them as "he". He corrected me by saying "she". I thanked them for correcting me and moved on. But the event has me wondering how we are supposed to recondition ourselves from having learned the difference between male and female, which is pretty obvious in most cases including my classmate's, at very very young ages? I mean, we can, but with a great deal of effort and stopping to think about it before uttering a single pronoun. So to effect this sea change, we'd need to be explaining all this to our toddlers, which seems like a sure-fire way to eff them up good. I mean no offense to anyone, I really do not! Very complicated issue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97