How To LOVE Asparagus!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #wellness6 years ago

ay1.jpg

I must be completely honest when I say that up until about six years ago, I would have never touched asparagus, let alone actually eat it! That is right up until I gave up sugar. My pallet just wouldn't allow me to eat green foods. In fact, I remember being that kid who refused to eat green beans. In fact, you could often find me sitting at the lunch table in vegetable protest, while all of the other kids were at recess playing. I didn't mind protesting, anything was better than those yucky things.

What was especially hard was that my children liked green beans, and other vegetables that I didn't care for. Now, so you know, I never deprived them of those foods and I always took a "no thank you bite" (for the sake of showing the kids that it's good to try new things), but really it was very hard to stomach them.

After I gave up sugar my food choices were pretty limited. So, I started trying new recipes and even started trying foods that I hadn't tried in years. After about six months, my pallet started to change and suddenly, the foods that I had always hated became foods that I liked. Then all of that yucky green stuff, became foods that I craved! I was now eating things like: salmon, brussel sprouts, green beans, mixed greens, spinach, kale, bok choy, and the list goes on and on.

If you are wanting to get started on a healthier eating journey, or maybe you are trying to kick the sugar habit, I can help you gain some perspective on your current diet and teach you how to incorporate new recipes into what you are currently eating. I want you to enjoy eating, while doing what you can for your body, nutritionally, while keeping in mind your health and wellness goals. In the comments below, feel free to ask me anything, I'm here to help!

This printable recipe for parmesan asparagus became one of my favorites and I would love to share it with you. If you are just starting on your nutritional journey or if you are a "green food" eating veteran, you are sure to love this lip smacking recipe, enjoy!

For further reading regarding asparagus and it's nutritional content as well as what functions it plays in helping you with a healthy body, see this post by The Medical Medium.

Tina

Sort:  

Asparagus! I grew up in a town that had asparagus growing near every ditch, watery way, etc. People would collect it by the grocery bag full. (brown paper memba them?)
I love asparagus. Now, I appreciate the cost savings of picking your own.
I wonder if they can be grown?

H. G.

They can be grown! Of course I remember paper bags.. I'm no spring chicken :)
You know.. I found you on facebook and sent you a friend request. Just FYI.
Thanks for supporting me and reading my posts :)

It's funny now, People walking around with hundreds of dollars worth of Asparagus . . . lol.

It's so expensive!! It's true! Lolol!

They are so good . . . I'm not sure if people know how delicious and a delicacy they truly are. when cooked right If overcooked . . . eww. lol.

I agree! There is nothing worse than soggy asparagus, ewww! But made this way or lightly fried in a cast-iorn skillet, and it's game on!
Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60