The Old Dog Worries: Let's Hope That They Welded Well!

in #welding7 years ago (edited)

On day 8 of my Steemcation I found myself on another vertical challenge. The Skywalk Allgau Naturerlebnispark in the Bavaria region of Germany has a suspended walkway that had me marvelling at the trust that all of the tourists have put in the welders who worked on this engineering marvel.

The View of The Countryside and Lake Constance is Marvelous




Facts About The Skywalk

  • It reaches a height of up to 40 meters
  • It is about 540 meters in length
  • You can use a slide to get back down!

Check Out The Welds That Helped to Hold This All Together!








What Do You Think?

  • Do you see the beauty in the welds and fittings of this walkway?
  • Would you trust the welds? Should I have?
  • Would you be afraid way up there?

I hope that you think that they welded well!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will do my best to upvote it with some of my 42,000 plus Steem Power! 

Sort:  

It's amazing what man will do just to get a view from up above.....definitely amazing structure

Another excellent post dear brother and one of my favorite as it asks about the strength and beauty of the welds.
Yes, the structure is beautiful and the welds will hold as long as the wire ropes (connector) and concrete stay strong.

Very carefully protected welds by paint, don't see even a little bit of rust.

I loved this post because I did a heavy duty mechanic job for 5 years and did a lot of welding there. Still I love welding It's fun.

Thanks for your input. You have done a wide range of work and it gives you an interesting lens through which to observe things!

It's all about circumstances dear brother. Now I understand that there are many benefits to born in a poor family; even though you have to go through a lot of hardships but you learn a lot!

Sehr schön!!! Tolles Erlebnis!
Aufwiedersehen!

Most of the times our overthinking is the cause of the problems which we'd never face. I don't think even if these welds were about to break off, they would all do it at once. And among so many joints, even if one or two gave way, what would happen? Perhaps it would swing or hang better than a Tibetan bridge ...adding to your fun!

I know you are enjoying your steemcations a lot and just scaring your followers here with such close ups of welded joints! But perhaps you don't know us. We too are enjoying your steemcations. How I wish your steemcations may continue forever! I'm loving it!

Thanks so much. We head home today but I'll still be on "vacation" at home for the rest of the week.

I wouldn't trust, it looks like nothing is holding it up.

I think that you would have enjoyed it. Especially the sky high obstacle course with the safety net below!

I would not think twice about testing that skywalk. In Germany, they would be regulated and secured for ages before people were allowed to walk on it.

In fact I would not even hesitate to slap dance my 540 meters of dignity all the way to safety.

Great slap dance. I'll give it a try!

looks safer than a tibetan bridge. ;)

Likely. This one had even more engineering involved.

I'm not a coward, but I'm afraid! )) I still can't overcome the fear of height. Besides a distrust of the quality of welding. I would not go))

I can understand that. Maybe once you were there you'd change your mind.

That's some fine welding! I trust that with my life... from an engineering standpoint- you got nothing to worry about!

Yes it looked great and it made me appreciate the engineering involved.

The whole thing looked pretty impressive. Where is it again? I was so busy inspecting the welds, I forgot to look lol!

The welds and fittings are so very invasive, and they don't match with the nature beaty. I believe, on the other hand, that they're safe and helpful! As usual a great post Old Dog! (;

I agree that it doesn't fit in with nature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59