You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Competition: #welcometosteemit

If you take those boosted articles out of Trending, the quality doesn't rise much, if at all.

Trending has been the same since I started last November, the only difference is now anyone can buy their way to it and not just the normal self-voting circle jerkers

Sort:  

Yup. This is why I think it would be really cool to see something up there with a stack of organic community votes. We shall see :)

I kind of see the idea but would they truly be organic community votes if we are only picking a post that happens to be submitted to the post you make? That is sort of just over rewarding one of your followers or followers, followers. That is not really organic to me that is the selective targeting of a selective group.

Still be nice to see someone get a big fat stack of votes but to call it truly organic is a little sheepish, IMO. So, I am for it but these are just my thoughts on it.

If you have any better ideas, feel free to put them forward :)

Just of of my own interest, i ran a few stats:

This post has been resteemed by 37 people.

The unique count of accounts reached is 31444.

The number of unique accounts that have submitted any content in the past 7 days is 58930.

The number of accounts reached by the post that have submitted any content in the past 7 days is 12034.

12034 out of 58930 - about a 5th of 'active 7 days' Steemit. Remove the community accounts / alt. accounts / bots / spammers / none English speaking / etc) and I would say that is not a bad effort.

No, I am all for it but we are talking about only voting for post that get dropped in your post. Also giving people a few days to think up something directly for this contest, wouldn't it be better to go grab a post that was written today based on the users feelings and production in place of planning and picking?

I don't think so, no. By sending out an advance warning.

  • people can prepare something 'good'
  • reviewers and then voters are prepped and ready - a focused push
  • VP can be recharged
  • more chance for word to spread that this is happening

What you suggest would be like starting an event with no guests, and having them slowly arrive through word of mouth. The combined push is lost like this, and there is less of a community feel that people are involved in working towards something for Sunday.

I might be wrong, but i'm not really up for arguing the technical aspects of it. It's something to try, and try is seemingly not too high on many peoples agendas at present.

As I said I am all for it but see this as the problem, we should already be doing this as a community. It says that people are not already producing content good enough and no one is rewarding. I stopped looking at the trending long ago as most did. What we have is in line with other forms of social media, those who pay to play are at the top.

It is worth a try, and I hope more grace is given to those with lower Reps like 55 and under as that would be even more beneficial to onlookers that this place isn't a full circle jerk of the high reps.

Again, I am in, it is worth a try.

As I said I am all for it but see this as the problem, we should already be doing this as a community.

Absolutely, but we are not - at least not pushing together - and that's cool, we all have our communities.

It says that people are not already producing content good enough and no one is rewarding.

I think there is enough good content - but as above...

It is worth a try, and I hope more grace is given to those with lower Reps like 55 and under as that would be even more beneficial to onlookers that this place isn't a full circle jerk of the high reps.

I would love for the post that is seen by the reviewers who come and check what's been linked decide the best post/s is of a newer user. I don't want to decide on my own.

Cheers!

THAT IS a shitty amount of users producing in 7 days as@ned was just throwing out 1 million user statistics on Bloomberg.

Are we really having all the current fighting and bitching between less than 100k people? What type of shit-show will it look like with a 20% world adoption? This info makes me feel even worse than before you wrote it.

My pleasure :)

I would hazard a guess that the number of unique people on this platform that are active weekly is 15-20k.

or less... depending on what you define as being active :P

I wasn't thinking along the lines of wiring a post or a comment. That number as a % of accounts is a mighty 1 - 1.5%. Youch!

Thanks for the replies elsewhere, I'll get round to them after the league post, prep for this 2nd post tonight, and hopefully a stats post on inactive account witness votes which has taken days to organise!

Cheers!

lol... I knew you understood my point!

No worries on getting back to me, I understand you're slammed...I am excited for your trending post... I have been thinking about it all day!

And also thank you for the support on the dustsweeper project, that was really awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97