My boys are finally both playing go!

in #weiqi7 years ago (edited)

Today is our club night and both Leo and Miro wanted to join the games. I'm so proud and happy now!

20170802_173502.jpg

:)


[Previous post: One photo every day: Rehab work, de-stapleizing newspapers. (38/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

Enjoy the time when your sons want to be with dad. My son is 16 and hanging out with dad isnt as cool as it used to be.

I'll try my best. :)

I played a few games against Miro. He played two out of three games to the end. He'd wander off a few times during each game to get more cardamom bread and sugarcubes but we did manage to finish the games and count the score. Miro lost both games gracefully and even listened to some of my comments after the games. The third game turned into a discussion and we did not finish it.

I learned about this game via a anime called Hikaru no Go. Amazing game.

Me too! A friend of mine told me he also liked Anime. He suggested Hikaru no Go as something to watch. And I did. The whole series at one go. And from that point on I was sold on Go. :)

(Brace yourself, cruising down memory lane commencing...)

This was in 2003 or 2004.

I immediately got drawn into the game, but as things go, I kind of lost interest after moving to a different town for a while.

It took me until 2008 when I had moved back to Lahti to find the game again and start playing it from start. I've now played pretty much constantly after 2009.

In 2010 I created some leather go-boards in a firm I was an apprentice in, and started inquiring on the net if there were other players in our town. Found one guy, and we started playing weekly in a bar.

Then I started my artesan studies, and thought it'd be cool if our school had a go club, and pretty soon after that in the Spring of 2012, I founded a club I later named Salpauksen Saarto ("saarto" =Encirclement, blockade).

After I graduated, the club naturally followed me out of the school premises and we found our new home in a bar called Hiidenkivi (means menhir in English).

In early last Spring our club turned 5 years old. We've later moved to play in our apartment building's club room.

Heh, hope you liked my little story. :)

Wow! That's a great challenge for you :D haha

I better get my girls started too!

AAaaaah! No time for GO, I want to play too.
But if I start playing again it will be training nonstop to beat new heights.

Learning from a young age will improve their IQ a lot.

There is not a greater pleasure in a parent's life than watching his child achieve another milestone regarding its mental(or physical) advancement, as it grows. I wish you to feel proud and happy for your kids many,many times more.

The club night, eh? :)
What better than a game of GO.
Acutally I just got an idea for an art photo for my series ;)

Cool, ping me when it's ready. :)

I m away from home for a few days but will let you know when posted :)

Must be growing up hey :)

Have fun and make sure both Leo and Miro enjoy the game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89