Being accountable

in #weightloss7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone I'm new to steemit so here's my first post :-) I have a strong interest in sports and performance nutrition and am going to be documenting small sections of why I eat what I eat, what the benefits are to me and how others can use this information to help themselves. I view it as more a real life, how things actually go, as opposed to the standard upload which is typically edited heavily in favour of purely success stories!

To start things off I would like to point out that 12 months ago I weighed in at a lean 97kg. I decided that I'd like to kickbox but would prefer, if need be, to be kicked in the head by someone much lighter! This led to me deciding to get down to 85kg which due to my leanness involved losing some muscle. A conscious decision. 1 month ago, once I was a bit more comfortable at this new weight, I made the decision to get even lighter. The following is a record of the result....

1 month ago I set myself the goal of hitting 79kg by this morning. Missed it. Where'd I go wrong?

  1. I underestimated how much my hunger levels would increase and, without wanting to track by calorie counting, this led to overeating for the deficit required
  2. 2 weeks in I weighed only 1kg less and started counting then
  3. Injuries. Hampering my gym sessions won't have directly affected my weight loss by much, however, I like working out, am happier when I do and am mope around a lot more when gym sessions suffer. This means a likely reduction in TDEE

I noticed all of these at the end of week 2 and have since corrected them. Weight loss has accelerated slightly but I'm still just over 80kg so am about 2 weeks away. I could go sweat out a kilo in a quick gym session but that isn't the point, or the challenge. I'll also have to be very careful not to put on unnecessary fat after this while cravings are through the roof and, right now at least, activity levels take a lot of forcing. It's a remarkably unpleasant experience but interesting.

I feel like posts like this can help bridge the gap and help people less informed realise that even those who know what they're doing can get things wrong. I hope that this leads to more people feeling capable of picking themselves up and continuing their journeys towards their goals.

Sort:  

Looking forward to the inspiration and motivation!
Best of luck

Welcome! It should be interesting to read your blog (struggling myself to lose weight oh), so i'll follow you:)

Welcome, I'm following you and look forward to our posts. Will you be covering nutrition?

Congratulations @harry1185! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56589.13
ETH 3005.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16