Losing Weight

in #weightloss7 years ago

I have seen a lot of posts about how to reduce weight here on Steemit and literally there are hundreds of thousands of posts on this topic all over the internet.

I know there are all types of diets, carbohydrate diets, all meat diets, soup diets etc. None of them end up working, I remember when I was about 12 years old my Dad and my Mom decided to go on a meat only diet. They only ate meat three meals a day. But they both cheated, I have always been a light sleeper, and somewhere around 1:00 am I'd hear a noise and there was my mother eating anything that was available in the fridge, at 3:00 am I'd be woken up again and there was my father doing the same thing.

So these diets don't work, for the simple reason that you need all types of proteins, vitamins carbohydrates etc that you won't get if you go on single item diet. So your body just rebels and you eat what you have to eat, end result no weight loss. Of course there are people who have a very strong will power and they can really follow a diet, but based on their will power I would say these people don't get over weight ever.

Now in my experience you have to eat less and exercise more, that will really help you. When I had my desk job I was weighing in at 212 pounds, I am 5'10" so I was really over weight not quite obese but getting close, one of the reasons being with my work mates we'd always buy something in the afternoon which helped with the weight gains. Then I left my job, I will tell you something, I have never had a heavy lunch I either just eat very lightly or don't eat at all, I do have a nice breakfast and a heavy supper and I stopped the mid afternoon snacks. And then I do what I learned from my parents I get up in the early morning and attack the fridge, this I have done since back when I was 12 years old.

But I now weigh in at 194 pounds, why? Because I eat about the same I have always eaten but at the same time since my time is mine, even though I do spend a lot of time on the computer, during the day time, with the hot sun we have down here I walk at least 6 miles a day. That's it, exercise and don't eat more than you have to, you are guaranteed to lose weight or at the least keep it stable.

I know exercise isn't easy for everyone, I mean the heavier type, like running, weight lifting, push ups, etc. But walking, that is the most normal and easiest thing in the world to do, you are made for it. Give it a try walk every day, maybe just one or two miles you will feel the difference. By the way I had my normal blood pressure at around 130/90 not that bad being I was 52 years old back then, but now that I do all that walking and am now 56 I normally read out at 120/80, so that is another advantage of walking, at least for me it works, I'm not sure if it's ok for everyone.

Maybe people who have a serious condition shouldn't walk, but these people are already on some kind of diet a doctor has given them.

Sort:  

Im walking a bunch. Not only is it helping me lose weight, its good for the mind as well.

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @gduran! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62701.63
ETH 2445.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67