One body one chance

in #weight-loss6 years ago (edited)

Unlike in the tv series Altered Carbon, where people can opt to get a new body as long as they can afford it -- I don't have the luxury to get a new body but I can improve this body that has been given to me.

This is the body I was born with and have allowed me to survive for 45 years. There is no reason not to respect and nurture it. It has its strong features but a lot of physical weaknesses which I have somehow accepted all these years. However now, at this age, it is no longer comfortable nor safe to continue with what I have now.

Even as a little kid, I would not be good in all kinds of physical games.. Always lagging behind, either because I was often the youngest in my group, or most probably because I was already chubby as far back as I can remember. In class, I was usually above-average academically but was always behind in P.E.

But enough of that past, I have to be thankful I have been blessed to still be given a chance to do something about my future. As some people would say today is the beginning of the rest of your life.

Nowadays, I have all the reasons to think about my health. February was a month that jolted me back to the grim reality of the poor state of my health. And to add to that, the kind of news you never want to hear, people from your past and your present passing away due to health problems that apparently seemed preventable.. however, I can't judge them-- they are not me, for the only person I can judge now is myself because I am the only one that can actually stand between sickness and an abundantly healthy life.

As a mild consumer of YouTube it's nice to acknowledge some vlogs that are quite inspiring: the vlogs of Erwann Heusaff and Raymond Gutierrez (of all people).. I came across these millenial celebrity vlogs lately and I am pleasantly surprised how informative and transparent they were -- not the usual vanity I see in most vlogs.

Today, I woke up and weighed myself and the reading was now 85.7! First time to go below 86! The next few days will show if I am able to maintain and continue the weight loss. Another first for today is my attempt to join a Pilates-Yoga class. It was great that I was able to do about 95% of all the routines which means I will see myself there again next Saturday. This time I will bring my elastic band which I bought a few days ago.A few days ago I also tried a bit of Boxing type aerobic class. I will probably attend that again but I think I can only do the standing exercises for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50