Introduction and why I started this goal of 50 kg at 50

in #weight-loss6 years ago (edited)

This is my very first post here at Steem after creating my account months ago.

I blogged before.. like long long ago between 2007-2009.. Anyway, I am a currently 45 turning 46 in less than a week, female, married and living in the area of Alabang -- somewhere in the south of Metro Manila. I have been thinking of journaling for the past months but somehow only got to actually do it after watching that "Mortified" TV series on Netflix where everyday people shared their teenage diaries. That show inspired me to start this, in addition to the fact that I just started this new crazy goal: 50 kg by 50 years old.

Last January, after coming back from a family reunion in the US, I went back to the gym and found out that I now weighed 91 kilos! A year ago I was already progressing and went as low as 79 only to go back to 91 kilos!? I'll share in a separate post later what caused this weight gain.

That day, I signed up for Lifetime Membership instead of just renewing my 6 month membership which I have already renewed once before. In addition, I have also signed up for their CoreFit and PowerStretch program (I will get to that later).

It would be good to also mention that in October of 2017 I started suffering from a bad knee. It happened so suddenly. As I stepped down from the driver's seat of my SUV my knee kept on "giving way" and I since had trouble walking because of that weak right knee. Sometimes, it's sore, sometimes it's the heels of my right foot. After that, I spent six sessions with a Physical therapist.

Since then, I made sure that I went to the gym every single day. My days with my trainer are Tuesdays and Thursdays. On other days I other join some dance class like Zumba or Dance Fusion or just use the machines available there.

In addition to that I also made sure I ate healthy food. It means no rice or any fast carbs. I eat mostly green leafy vegetables and beans as my staple and a little bit of meat or seafood. I have tried several diets previously but I think this one suits me well.

Now, I am happy to say that after about two months I have lost 5 kilograms -- I weighed on the area of 86 for the past 3 days without going up.. And one great thing is that my blood pressure has gone down below 140/90, it was even 126/73 today.

Sort:  

Welcome to the community. Creativity is contagious... pass it along. - Albert Einstein

Thanks! Will try my best to post regularly.

Congratulations @beecube, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61394.39
ETH 3386.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50