The Weekly 250

in #weekly2506 years ago

When individual users succeed, Steem succeeds.

Ultimately it boils down to bringing in more eyes to the Steem block chain and the steemit platform. We need a balance between investors and content creators, people with money and people with ideas. I am going to do as much as I can to bring both of those into our sphere. As you can see in my Promoting Steem post, I recently attended the Olympic Winter Games in South Korea, passing out steemit stickers and marketing the Steem block chain. I have several other ideas for offline promotion that I plan on rolling out in the coming weeks, but alongside offline promotion it is necessary to help those who are already involved with steemit, but aren't having the desired results... yet. Those known as Minnows, low to no Steem power, whose posts receive a few dollars, down to a few pennies each time. The ones starting from the bottom and not having the same success as Drake.

Introducing the weekly 250

From now until the end of time,(the foreseeable future at least) I will be delegating 250 Steem Power to a different minnow each week in hopes of sparking more minnow engagement in the steemit ecosystem, #weekly250. I will be selecting a new minnow each week, and that minnow will be delegated the Steem power for exactly 7 days before choosing a new candidate the following week.

Moreover, all earnings from this post and #Weekly250 posts in the future will be added to the delegation, over time this will hopefully grow to a substantial amount of SP.

Call to Action

This contest is designed to promote minnows in our community who are deserving of a little extra Steem power, so what are the requirements to win the delegation?

  • You must have under 1000 SP to be considered for this delegation.
  • You must make a post explaining why you deserve the delegation, and use the tag #weekly250
  • You do NOT have to resteem or even upvote this post to enter, however it is in your own interest, as the more rewards this post earns, the higher the delegation will be.

That's it, pretty simple to follow rules to enter.

If you are a whale

and would like to help out with this cause delegate some SP to @jasonshick, and I will add it to the weekly delegation. If you are too cheap to delegate some SP, then resteem this so it can reach more eyes and hopefully those who are willing to delegate will see it.

Since I plan on running this contest continually, it might be modified over time to make it more efficient, however for now this is a good start.

Supporting minnows is vital because like any ecosystem all levels of the food chain are vital for the system to survive, you take away any level and the system collapses.

So, if you're a minnow with under 1000 SP, make a post with the tag #weekly250 to enter, if you're above 1000SP and want to support the cause, consider resteeming or delegating SP directly to me, so I can help support those who need it most.

@jasonshick

Sort:  

This is a great initiative and I will be putting in my entry. I am really starting to understand that steemit is about building relationships and repuatation the rewards would come after.

That is so lovely that you are delegating steem to new minnows. @meno delegated to me afew days ago when i started and it helped so much with the bandwidth issue us minnows face when just starting. Thanks so much for helping out the community

Like the beetles famous song, we get by with a little help from our friends haha

Very true and soon i know it will be my turn to help out others :)

Resteemed.

Cheers my friend, sincerely appreciate it.

P.s. Just got back into Toronto after several years away, Toronto winter is much warmer than I was have been accustomed to haha

Oh, you're in Toronto? Yes, this winter's been pretty mild. March came in like a lamb. Looks like Wiarton Willie misled us.

Yeah just here for a few weeks to visit family and friends. I’m glad I missed the cold weather, nice to walk around and not freeze

That sounds like a great idea! I'm sure that there are a lot of people who could use 250 SP delegated for a week - myself included! :) Thanks for putting this out there to help others grow and create.

We all grow and succeed together, no steemians left behind. Would love it if you submitted an entry

Done! I'm all for supporting this initiative. I hope that you get some great entries! :)

me too, would love to see this take off and motivate more people to get involved

Do you accept participation in Spanish?

You can be part of the Spanish community but for right now I am only accepting English entries due to my lack of Spanish

I love seeing offers like this. I’m not interested in being sponsored as I’m getting close to 1000sp, but I’m resteeming to help spread the word.

Much appreciated. I wasn’t lucky enough to get help from others when I was just beginning so I am just trying to pass on the good deeds. Thanks for the support

Awesome!! I look forward to reading it. Good luck

thank you!

hi, @jasonshick
I came here couse of @matildakim lol
How was Pyeongchang?

Welcome. Pyeongchang was amazing. The athletes from all countries did a great job, it was a great experience

This is a great initiative @jasonshick..
I get excited when I see platfforms like this where minnows lke myelf get to be appreciated and recognized..
Thumbs up..
Steem on and Stay awesome

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 12 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57372.40
ETH 2456.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41