Digging around

in #weekendfreewrite5 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to the #weekendfreewrite with three given prompts. See @mariannewest.

One afternoon late in the day, Miguel came to visit us and sit by the reflection of the pool.

"Why are you here", I informed.
Miguel never came without a reason. If he showed up it meant trouble. I was not fond of his trouble served on my plate.

"Bad mood?"

"Always if I see your face. I cannot remember I invited you."

I was not the only one around who disliked him. The dogs came out of the pool, circled around him and growled. They were ready to attack as soon as I gave the sign. How I would love to have him finished but the time was not right yet.

"You should get married, such a beautiful woman all alone, what a waste."

He peered at me with his little rat eyes and even started drooling.

"Waste?"

"Yes, it is such a big waste. You must be lonely at night and a woman alone can always use a strong, healthy, handyman."

"If you say so."

"Do you agree?"

"I beg your pardon?"

"Oh, come on girl. Why do you play it so hard on me? Wait a minute I show you something."

He didn't need long and as he came back he held a suitcase.

"There is more in the car and the rest will be delivered tomorrow. This one will do for the night."

"You are quick to express your feelings, and you don't care what the consequences are."

"Oh, come on honey. You and me we are perfect for each other."

Honey? What the hell was he thinking? I never made any advances and the last face on earth I liked to see was his.

" I asked you why you are here."

He must have thought it out well since he didn't hesitate for a second as he recited the whole "you-are-such-a-great-woman-and-what-a-shame-you-are-single-but-hey-I-am-here-to-save-you-out-of-your-misery-story".

I stood up and went to the side of the pool. Already the thought of him made me sick. If there was one thing I could not deal with was with stupid, blind men fulfilled with their own greatness. Miguel did a step forward and as one the dogs did one into his direction too.

"My dogs don't like you neither do I."

They will get used to it.

"Used to it?"

"Their new home. There is no need to keep them. I am here to protect you now. You can have a cat."

"I can have a cat?"

He smiled at me and I couldn't help thinking of big fat rats crawling all over the place.

"Hmmm, a cat wouldn't be such a bad idea. There seems to be a rat plague these days."

"So it's a yes?"

"A yes? What is yes? Are you being my hero and lifesaver? Miguel, you can not even dig a hole in the ground. Go home and take your suitcase with you!"

"What do you mean I cannot dig a hole, I show you what I can. Where is that shovel, give me that shovel!"

Miguel was freaking out and the urgent need to prove what he was capable of intrigued me.
He flung his wool sweater through the garden as I handed him over a shovel and showed him, at the back of the yard, where he could start.
He kept shoveling and didn't say a word as I left him. Tomorrow was early enough to check him out. It was long passed my bedtime. I called the dogs, locked the door and went to bed. A good long night rest wouldn't be a bad idea.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Right, @puncakbukit upvoted and resteemed your post to thousand followers.. Thanks to approve @puncakbukit as your witness and curator.

Thank you for the upvote and good luck.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wakeupkitty.pal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank.you for the update.

Posted using Partiko Android

As a member of the @Council - Community Curator Service, this post has received a 100.00% upvote.

Members of the community can all chip in to Power UP. Become a member, delegate 10 or more Steem Power (SP) to @Council to receive upvote and resteem. Here's the link to delegate https://on.king.net/council10sp it will redirect to Steem Connect for a secure connection. We share the Steem Power of all members that delegate to Community Curator Service, sharing our SP for a stronger upvote.

Thank you.
Project Powered by Steemians

Thank you for the upvote.

Posted using Partiko Android

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

@olivia08 I invite you to read/comment this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45