Eerie Grounds (weekend freewrite- 3 prompts)

1024171032.jpg

The aroma of coffee wafting through the window woke her. She smiled. Suddenly, she sat up. She had no idea where she was. In a panic, Tina reached for the door handle of my car. "Who are you? Why am I in your car?"
I put my hands up and calmly told her who I was, and that I had put her in my car. As I was escaping that dreadful fog covered town, I had spotted her limping along the side of the road.

"You were covered in blood, and was in a state of confusion. I helped you get in my car. Then I drove to this place. I went to get some paper towels and water, and cleaned the blood off you. My name is Sam."

"Where did you come from," asked Tina.

"I was checking out this place where someone kept calling out my name. I thought maybe one of my friends was playing a prank. I saw some very strange things."

"Most importantly: Feel free to change," I told her, as I saw her eyes look over her clothes. I had not wanted to try changing her clothes while she was unconscious. "I had some clothes in my backpack. I think they will fit you, if you want to go inside the coffee shop to change. I will walk with you so as to block the view a bit, of your bloody clothing.
Can you tell me what happened, where all the blood came from?"

"I don't know. I don't recall much. I don't know how I even got there. I was in this field and then someone or something was chasing me with a tractor. I fell and tripped on barbed wiring. I tried to run into that house, but then a gut feeling told me not to. I ran and ran as fast as I could. This black shadowy figure was running behind me. All of a sudden it stopped and went back towards that house. I kept turning to watch for it and saw headlights by the place, but I kept running the other way."
Reflect upon the lives.. Tina and I turned, when we heard someone saying that. The waitress was walking towards us. She motioned us towards the bathroom. When we came back out, she was waiting for us to sit at a booth.The waitress approached us and softly whispered. "We'd seen that look before. The look of terror and people covered in blood stained clothes. You came from that town 138 miles back right?"

As I held my breath, I replied "Yes. What the heck is happening over there?"

Quickly she said, "nobody ever talks about it because it brings bad luck. But there was a young family there who had been raising cattle. They hired this guy to help out, and then one by one the family would just vanish. Many who ran into that dreaded place did not escape it. Their bodies are mixed in with the hay bales."

Here is the link to the first part. I had not planned on continuing the story till recently, so the beginning story is past payout. But please feel free to check it out.
https://steemit.com/fiction/@pixiehunter/eerie-grounds-short-story-fiction

Sort:  

Spooky

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, I think the hair raised on the back of my neck, as I was typing. :)

Ahhh - you decided to continue! Well done!!

Lol, the 1st prompt was what provoked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67160.08
ETH 3517.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70