You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Gotta Have Faith: Three Part Weekend Freewrite

in #weekendfreewrite7 years ago

This is so beautiful and bittersweet. I felt fear going into it that the true outcome you shared was what eventually happened. I'm sorry for your loss; I'm sure 20 years isn't enough recovery time. How can you ever heal from losing your brother?

I personally believe that writing can have a healing component, and that retelling our most challenging and painful experiences--whether through journaling, blogging, or writing fiction--can help you convert some of the pain into a release from it. In fact, I wrote a post a couple of days ago about the idea of releasing some of the emotional power of our past through fiction writing. What do you think about writing as a healing art?

This story gripped my heart. I will be thinking about it all day.

Sort:  

I have been writing as a healing exercise for well over a decade. I used to write in livejournal daily and have worked through so SO many things by writing. I fully believe in the power of writing to get things out of my head where I can see them more clearly, step away from stress and really analyze things.

A lot of my freewrites come from a place of needing to heal/revisit or just deal with my own history and it has been so freeing, in an entirely different way from journaling. Being able to use fiction to change the outcome, to express rage/revenge/fantasy has been a great thing for me.

That’s is really wonderful to hear. I wish more people would do that, instead of letting life’s difficulties fester and become toxic. The world would be a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67