Flying the Friendly Skies

friendlyskies-841441_1920.jpg

Pixabay

It was my first time in an airplane and I was nervous. Still, it was totally unexpected when the guy sitting next to me grabbed my hand as the turbulence hit. I nearly went through the ceiling at his touch. I had been sitting there, lost in my own world of self-soothing talk, repeating stand up comedy lines about plane crashes to calm myself. Don't ask me why, but reminding myself of the humor of the situation makes me feel better.

Anyway, I was sitting there, eyes closed, talking to myself and probably appearing to be not just a little mental when the plane suddenly jolted and felt like it was falling for a second. I swallowed a scream and clutched the armrest in a panic. I guess the guy sitting next to me did the same thing, because his hand was suddenly clutching mine.

Up until that moment, I hadn’t paid any attention to anyone around me. The plane could have been full of gorillas for all I knew, I had been so hyper focused on not freaking out that I was completely in my own head.

Now, though, there was no choice but to notice. The hand curled around mine was big, strong and sending sparks through me like nothing I’d ever experienced before. It was so shocking that I momentarily forgot my fear that we were about to fall to our deaths. That is, until I locked eyes with the stranger next to me.

The first thing that hit me was that he looked as surprised as I felt. The second thing was that he looked like he was about to vomit. Or have a complete and utter nervous breakdown. His eyes were wide as they met mine, but his face was dead white. He gave me a wavering smile and looked down at his hand clutching mine. He didn’t let go, just stared at our hands together as the plane jerked and then settled once again in the sky.

When he saw the rip in my dress, he had a hard time controlling his anger. “DAMN IT! I am so sorry!” He blurted. “I ripped your freaking dress!”

I looked down and saw that somehow in the midst of our hand grabbing chaos, that my dress had gotten caught on the arm rest. In hindsight, it had probably caught and ripped when I sat down, but now that we were staring at our linked hands, it was really noticeable.

He pulled his hand away like he was on fire and stammered, “I’m so sorry. I hate that I get so damn nervous when I’m flying. I’ll pay for the dress.”

“It’s not your fault,” I reassured him. “Really. I’m pretty sure I did that myself when I sat down. I was just trying not to have a nervous breakdown myself. I hate flying.”

He seemed to calm somewhat by my chill response. I don’t know if it was just because he’d been freaking out or what, but it really helped me stay cool. “I don't know, I tend to become my own version of mass chaos when I fly. I can pay for the dress, really." I shook my head. "Are you sure?” he asked.

“I’m sure.” I nodded at the stewardess coming our way, “I wouldn’t say no to a drink, though, if you’re up for it.”

And that was how it started. He bought a few airplane sized bottles of liquor and we both chugged them. Our nerves disappeared and suddenly it was like we were just two people sitting at a bar getting to know each other. He was flying back from a business trip and I was flying to a new job. Of course, who wants to talk work when you’ve met a new hot guy? Not me, that’s for sure.

His name was Adam, a nice, solid name. He was SO easy to talk to that we spent the rest of the flight absorbed in conversation. Maybe it was the alcohol, maybe it was just meant to be.

We discovered our mutual love for rock concerts, gloomy weather (thus my choice to move to a place like Seattle for my 'fresh start' in life) and reading SciFi books like our lives depended on it. It was like fate had brought me the perfect man just when I had given up.

By the time our flight landed it felt like I’d known him for years. We disembarked and I suddenly felt awkward, like, what were we supposed to do now? We had JUST met. We’d exchanged contact info and all that, but I really didn’t want to leave his presence yet. I knew it was stupid, I mean, I should really be getting back to my new place and making sure my stuff had been delivered and all that. I should be preparing for my new job, my new life, but what better way to prepare for a new life than to find the perfect guy to share it with?

There were clouds in the sky as we left the airport. Dark, gloomy clouds. “Oh good, we’re back to nice weather again,” he said. The woman in front of us turned to look at him like he was crazy and we both cracked up. Our eyes met and I knew I didn’t want to let him out of my sight quite yet.

We both spoke at the same time, “Do you want to go get something to eat?” and without another word, he took my free hand in his.

“So, what would you like to eat? We can get food and then I can take you home if you like.” I smiled up at him, amazed at how comfortable I felt with this guy already.

“Well,” I was trying to be reasonable. I mean, of course I wasn’t going to just leave with this stranger I’d just met. Right? But he just felt so RIGHT! ‘Alexis, get your shit together! Damn! Don’t be so desperate!' I said to myself. I hated playing games, though, and the whole 'hard to get' thing just wasn't me. I wanted more time with this guy and at that moment, I didn't really care if it made me seem pathetic.

We walked out the front doors and I was preparing my excuse, I had a ride coming (I didn’t), I had already called an uber, (I hadn’t) when a man in a suit came up and took the guy’s luggage right out of his hand. “Welcome back Mr. Scott. I trust you had a pleasant flight?”

Adam relinquished his suitcase and turned to me, “Alexis, this is my assistant, chauffeur and all around do everything guy, Charles.” Turning back to Charles he added, “Charles, this is Alexis. I think she’s going to join me for a bite to eat before we take her home.”

Charles’ eyes looked like they might pop out of his head for a split second before he regained his composure. “Of course, Sir.” He reached for my rolling suitcase, “If I may?” He said. At that point, I realized that it was time to go ahead and jump in. Surely this guy wasn’t a serial killer with a driver who was in on it. Hopefully. Still, I had always trusted my instincts about people and even before the driver situation, I had been ready to spend more time with this guy. Now I just felt even more secure in my choice.

I let Charles take over and followed Adam ‘Mr. Scott’ I reminded myself, and watched as he put our luggage in the trunk of a very fancy car waiting at the curb. Charles held open the door for me and soon I was ensconced in the most luxurious car I’d ever had the pleasure of seeing. This was going to be one crazy ride, I thought. ‘What a way to start this new chapter in my life!’


Well, it looks like the beginning of yet another erotic romance gearing up here. This is my 3 Part Weekend Freewrite thanks to @mariannewest These are definitely becoming my favorite writing challenges, but damn, they are really difficult sometimes! If you love to write, I recommend giving it a try. I've found myself inspired to write and continue the story a few times now with new storylines and characters that I probably wouldn't have found otherwise!


I write everything from romance to very explicit, kinky erotica. Choose your favorite:

Erotic Romance:

pin-thetemp-quote-1868557_1920.jpg

NSFW:

300-naughtygirl1.jpg

37544523_1846737622085777_3883680098158641152_n.png

Photo Source 1, 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

repeating stand up comedy lines about plane crashes to calm myself.

Thought I was the only one who did that. Huh. Never happened to meet a lovely stranger, though. Not yet, but I've got four more flights scheduled before the year's out, so...:D
Lovely story! <3

Good luck! Maybe you'll find your own lovely stranger.

I especially like Ron White's line about one engine going out on a two engine plane and the guy beside him says, "How far do you think the other engine will take us?"

He says, "All the way to the scene of the crash. I bet we'll beat the ambulance there by twenty minutes, because we are hauling ASS!"

Lol

I wish I was that stranger that met that other stranger on the airplane and felt as your two lover do. mmm...

You just need to fly the friendly skies! Although maybe you'd have just as good of luck on other forms of transportation? ;)

A fun read. It could happen. :)
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

Dreams do come true. Or we can at least write them that way! Thanks for the feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62323.35
ETH 2639.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56