Moonstruck.


trees dark.png

Hanna stood in the impossible night of the forest, her eyes fixed on that one spark of light which flared up like a beacon and just as quickly disappeared. Left, right or straight-ahead she though. There were only three choices. There was no going back. She had to get somewhere and tell someone something of great importance, that she knew. But beyond that, things were a little hazy. Perhaps it was the effect of the pills, but she was almost certain she’d been feeding hers to skinny sonny sunshine for at least a week, and truth to tell he seemed none the worse for it.

One foot in front of the other Hanna, she told herself, and you must get there eventually. Have faith was what her grandma used to say to her, Think that your seeds will germinate and that the plans will grow, or was that plants? She wasn’t quite sure anymore. Forward she went her hands out in front, like a sleepwalker blind in the blackness of the night. And there it was again, another spark; not a torch, not a campfire, perhaps the glow of a cigarette she though as her feet moved unbidden towards it.


moon1.png

This is pure joy, thought Carl as he leaned against the tree trunk puffing on his cigarette. His first day on the job and he hadn’t had to strain himself at all. A damn sight better than hauling bloody carcasses in the meat factory. This one was a keeper, that was for sure. But maybe this was a trial, and he was being tested. He stubbed out the cigarette, pulled back his shoulders and straightened, pulling himself to his full height. "Shouldn’t we go look for her?" he asked his colleague, busy playing candy crush on his mobile phone. "Nah," answered Billy, "Just give her time, she’ll come to us. Mark my words, she always does" and as if by magic Hanna appeared at the edge of the tree line, blinking in the unaccustomed light of the full moon.

Time to go home Hanna, crooned Billy softly as he moved towards her. It’s dinnertime, and you must be ravenous. "Home, ravenous" repeated Hanna, allowing herself to be led towards the waiting van, the vinyl lettering on which read ‘Winston County Home for the bewildered'.

Posted in response to @mariannewest's weekend freewrite.
The three prompts are in bold
The image are my own

Sort:  

How nice to have a deirdyweirdy piece to sink my teeth into again!
Home for the bewildered - it seems many of us could use living in a place like that, with strapping young men on the lookout for our well beings.
Excellent. I've missed you.
And thanks for the sbi!!!!!!

Ohhh, ditto that!!! I've been hoping to see more WRITING from @deirdyweirdy - delivering prompts is so time consuming - we can only spread ourselves so thin. I never understood all the hardfork stuff and never will, but thank you everyone who reads and upvotes - maybe we don't really need each other, but I love the sense of community and purpose. And I love your story @deirdyweirdy!! Great surprise twist at the end! And this line - wow - your command of Deep POV is stellar:

Have faith was what her grandma used to say to her, Think that your seeds will germinate and that the plans will grow, or was that plants?
You have the natural talent for writing fiction. I'll bug you forever if you think your stories aren't worth your time writing. YOU ARE A BORN WRITER!

Thank you most kindly for the glowing endorsement. It's definitely the sense of community that keeps me here. It was a good day for me when I found Marianne and her happy little freewriting band.

Mind if I quote you on that in the Friday Favorites post?
:)

Go right ahead. If there's something even better than being talked about it's being quoted;)

Aw shucks, thanks for that. I know I've been quiet lately but all this talk of quality content and adding value has made me a little skittish.

Thank you so much for that sbi! I just figured out it was you. Well, I didn't figure it out, I went to your blog to see just how long it's been since you wrote a story and came across your post announcing that you were giving a boatload of sbi away and some of it was coming to me!
I had the same problem at the beginning of the fork and started making sure my posts were meaty and "worthy", but it was hit or miss getting rewards and a SHITLOAD MORE WORK. Screw that. So now I am back to doing what I was doing before the elite techno-savvy math-minded gambling class made the changes that ultimately has benefited the likes of them. (hf21 tip - don't say the kind of stuff I just said or you will guarantee your post makes nothing)
Come back! Do a wewrite! The same people who loved you then will love you still, and everyone else will continue to ignore you. It's kind of nice.

Hahaha, how could I not take advice like that? I have a few things written so I'll start posting them immediately if not sooner.
As to the SBI, you're very welcome. I'm always delighted when your stuff arrives in my feed. You've given me so much entertainment and support, it's nice to have the opportunity to give something back.

What a great story but I am not surprised, coming from you. Love the ending! That is a place where I belong right now. LOL!

I might be able to get you a good rate;)

Howdy dierdyweirdy! wow that is wonderfully disturbing. lol. It also sounds like the start to a good tv thriller, well done!

Thanks Mr. J. Coming from such a consummate story-teller as yourself, I take that as a compliment indeed

You are very welcome deirdyweirdy and thanks for the compliment and you are very gifted yourself. Hey, did you ever move South closer to sir blanchy? You and that kid that lives downstairs? lol.

Not moved yet but we have bought and are hoping to get in this side of Xmas.

Quarry photo IMG_20190726_142314527 (3).jpg

Well that's good to hear deirdyweirdy! What is this photo? It looks like a giant foundation made of huge granite blocks that someone built a little house on.

It's a former quarry with a lake, 14 acres, and a 5 bedroom house.

Holy Smokes! Is THAT the place you're buying? I didn't know you were rich. What did you do, sell some of your coveted artwork?

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Yes, I did! That and an old house I had lying around!

Good one! I enjoyed reading this. ^_^

ditto that - and you beat me to it, nominating this for the Friday Favorites!
(And I'm glad you did!)

Thanks for all the shout outs and support. You're a lovely lady.

Thank you kindly m'dear. The support is much appreciated.

Congratulations @deirdyweirdy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97