Fatherland


IMG_20180927_150833919 (1).jpg

Spring rolled around, and it occurred to me that I hadn't been home in two years, not since my deranged father ordered my fiancé and his parents out of the house on Christmas Day before they’d even had a bite to eat. But that's another story.

He’d always been what my mother termed difficult, and until I was five years old and discovered the dictionary, I thought that meant stark raving mad. Suffice to say I didn’t bring my friends home, and I barred him from coming within 100 metres of my school by threatening to report him to Childline. He didn’t dare to cross me; I had his genes after all.

Ignoring my then fiancé now husband’s counsel that a surprise visit was a bad idea, I set off solo and homeward bound. Spring, after all, was the time for new starts, and it was high time I made up with my father.

Using my old door key when I arrived I walked in on my parents in a heated discussion. ‘I tried to reason with them’ my mother was insisting. 'I told them that if I get into bed with you guys, I lose my clients'. My heart seemed to flip over and then stop until I realised she was referring to the town’s annual charity bed push. It seems the controversial GLTKKK, of which my father was the recently enrolled third member, was entering this year and they were threatening him with excommunication if my mother refused to be one of their four in a bed. They imagined that she, as the local churchwarden, would lend them some air of respectability.

It was promptly decided between the two of them that a church warden’s daughter would probably do just as well and so it came to pass that I found myself in bed with the entire membership of the GLTKKK. It was only a stormy day with zero visibility that saved me ending up all over social media. The only image of me on that day is so out of focus it looks like I’m far back in a tunnel with my head stuck in a bucket. Very fortunate considering my public position and the fact the GLTKKK is now a proscribed organisation in 13 countries.

Posted in response to @mariannewest's weekend
freewrite challenge.
The 3 prompts are in italics
The image is my own.

Sort:  

Love it!!! That was a clever twist with the "bed" prompt!! And sure glad she didn't get splashed all over social media 😀 (I googled GLTKKK wondering if it was a British thing LOL . You are convincing)

Hahaha, you googled it, that's funny! I'll have to try out these convincing superpowers next time I need a loan.

Do it!! You are good LOL

Congratulations!! You won an SBI share!! And your prompt delivery buddy was the other winner!! How cool is that!!
https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/winner-week-3-4-2019-recommend-your-favorite-freewrite

Thank you, thank you. And since we recently decided we were separated at birth, I'm sure I can speak for my prompt delivery buddy when I say we are absolutely delighted.

happy that you are! and that you are such good friends!

Once again @deirdyweirdy your witty writing style helped to brighten my evening :>)

Well if it made you less of an angryman for even a few minutes, it was worthwhile;)

Ya...so true.

I agree with Marianne, a surprising twist! I always enjoy reading where others took the prompts, an endless stream of possibilities~

Thanks very much. Your own story wasn't too shabby either. You have a very distinctive style.

Does it mean Gay Lesbian , Trans. not sure about the KKK.?

Hahaha, .....Never reveal and always conceal the secrets of the brotherhood....but I'll give you a hint

kkk kid.jpeg

I want to join the GLTKKK can you send me a link to sign up urgently.

Hahahaha, I'm certain you'd make the perfect member!

Hi @deirdyweirdy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.740 which ranks you at #5112 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 5110).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #92.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15