Sort:  

I'm so sorry for you loss. Especially around the holidays, that must be very difficult.

Suicide is very prevalent in my extended family. I've lost two brothers to it and numerous uncles. No one ever wants to talk about the why, just that it seems to happen in every generation. I've worked very hard to escape the dynamics of that family dysfunction with my own children. Generational abuses and skeletons in the closet need to be stopped.

Two brothers, and uncles, lost to suicide?
There must be some chemical imbalance - something genetic - going on there.
I cannot imagine! The loss!
If it's generations of abuse, that can be stopped (more easily than the DNA thing), but it takes so long and it's so much harder than we ever think it will be. But you can do it. {hugs}

I'm sure there is. I suffer from depression/bipolar myself. I am VERY open with all of my kids about our heritage and that we all need to be aware of things like that. I've also disconnected myself and more importantly my children from the extended family and all of the dysfunction and abuse. My kids grew up outside of that black cloud and I'm incredibly proud of that, in spite of all the things I didn't get 'right', I did that.

Thank you for your comment.

I'd hit upvote, but I've learned the consequences of Steemit's version of the "Like" button. :)

Wait... what are the consequences? This place seems to simple at times, but so complicated. I swear I learn something completely new every day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47