Weekend Freewrite 4/21/2018- The Sustainable Development Goals : Gender Equality

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago

It actually started as a tasking prompt till it started taking the shape of SDG and am proud it ends that way, would you believe it a timed #freewrite ?
CMYqBk1XAAASqaX.png
[Image Source : Phone gallery]

DQmb4NbBA7YyyWdwVXXRbDc12iJQsV1WeGeZCztzECYicKo_1680x8400.png
I know I told my brother this is going to happen, I know I told him this scheme of his is going to have repercussions, but it was too late as the marriage is just two week to come, fine they got married and after six months the papers were ready to travel abroad for study, and five years down the line my brother is yet to come back home.
Now the woman has fallen in love again, she was called to a family meeting and she was all full of tears for I know in those eyes she loved both husbands.

DQmb4NbBA7YyyWdwVXXRbDc12iJQsV1WeGeZCztzECYicKo_1680x8400.png
The family reached a consensus of what next to do, she's to be taken to a room, there was a feeling about the place, but it wasn't what you'd expect in a house like this, right there in front of my eyes I could see the family shrine with all the horrible occultic things and she's told to swear by it, my eyes can't take it any longer I voiced out that this is purely unacceptable, why will this woman be witch-hunted this way, if it's my brother who have two wives will they bring him here ? Why dehumanizing the female gender and haven't you heard of gender equality as one of the SDG goals? This must stop I cried out.

DQmb4NbBA7YyyWdwVXXRbDc12iJQsV1WeGeZCztzECYicKo_1680x8400.png
Then we heard a knock at the door, as my younger brother rushed to answer it, he brought in a mail and gave it to the head of the family : my father, with the wife still on her knees crying, he asked who sent it and I made it known to him the stamp on the envelope shows the country my brother is in, so father opened it immediately with hands shaking due to old age and construction site work and out slipped on the floor two pictures and fell just in front of his wife, it's my brother with his white coloured wife all full of smile, the accused looked in bewilderment and wife off the tears from her eyes and stood up to leave.

Case closed.

Written in response to the #freewrite challenges that @mariannewest has been posting.

I'll love to read your reactions to it and Pls if you find any error there kindly forgive me am at the mercy of Mrs Five minutes.

U5dqoPhtE3nGnv5E7tgBpcQb3SDTH1Y.gif

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Great idea to tackle gender equality with these prompts! It's as you wrote, why should the wife, lonely without her first husband and lucky enough to find someone else who loves her, be judged by the family more harshly than the husband?

Am glad you can relate with it.

Well done!!! And so true! So many men are allowed to have more than one wife - but women are supposed to just deal....

Yes, while the Bible says male and female the Lord created them, culture has made it male are superior and female are lower .

and many use the bible to prove that that is how it should be..... So glad that you are thinking differently.

Look what's dropped in!
image via pixnio

Freewrite Day 185 - basket

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks, off I go 🏃 🏃 to check it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71