The Circle of Life - Day 227: 5 Minute FreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago

images(1).jpg
source
Bones, bones, mama, bones.
Tokugawa ran through the staircase first to announce his entry into the building and an assurance he's going to get another bed time story with this one, he's in junior school three with students being given a prompt to write on for the week, his mom always has this fun way of dealing with each prompt with a happy ending, Tokugawa was closer to home as each steps were taken with joy, flinging the door open to meet her mom as usual on her wheelchair ♿, neck fenced round with POP, head stiff like a mountain, each gestures of hers is made with some little pain though she smiled through it, she looks useless sitting all day with drip passing through her nose but she hasn't gave up a bit of hope, full of life at all time you could see her eyes lightening up the darkest night, the night comes when she'll gently move her lips to bring this prompt to life, my head still imagining a lot of what I'll hear soon.
The room is simple to live in as I dropped my bag to give her my obeisance, hugged her tight, Tokyo best mum I said into her ears, she smiled as always, mama, the teacher gave us a prompt today, she quietly moved her head,
"bones, mama," I said childishly
"bones or mama, which one" slowly talking
"bones" I laughed
She smiled again and told me to go grab the noodles on the table, took time to finish up my mathematics and other assignment, went out to play with my friends, only to meet mama has gone to the great beyond, making me the newest orphan in the world.

.

Thirty years have passed now and am still telling the story for all who cares to listen, it has put food on my table, writing stories has earned me respect for my name to be mentioned with the likes of Tolkien.
I remembered last I was having a book signing then came this innocent boy who came with nothing, eyes full of tears and deeply sad.
"Mr Tokugawa, my mum is paralyzed and my teacher gave me this prompt to write" presenting his notebook before me.
"may I see the prompt dear ? "
Reaching into his bag he brought out the pages and there it is "Bones"
I was startled at first but took up the challenge to write, with each letter and words pouring out from my head comes along a tear, I cried while writing, no one knew why, I don't too.
.

The above story is in response to a prompt by @mariannewest
QmVpU1DEDeAhYQMch6azkeSYMSXf8SvsXQVbK98QqHmzQw.gif

  • Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him here and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.
  • If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, on that same page type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
  • Support his other brainchild projects like #untalented, #steemgigs, #teardrops, #steemsecrets and #ulogs.
    Thank you!

v6mt1ywn00tgjwirh4uv.gif

Sort:  

That would have been a shock for a little kid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35