Plasma Scream - Freewrite

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago (edited)

Blood Orange.jpg

I had this system for getting exactly what I wanted out of people I would sit them down in a chair beside me, and try to make them at ease. I'd talk about the weather, current affairs, their family, anything really. I just wanted them to relax, let their guard down as much as possible. then when the opportunity presented itself I'd be ready to extract what I was after. It sounds easy, but it's not, everybody has fears of one sort or another, rational or irrational. If I could make people feel at ease, that made it so much easier. It would flow then, just how I liked it. Not too quick, not too slow, just right.

"He was skating on thin ice that's all I can say"

"I know, He's new here, apologies about that. Why don't you sit down here and we'll see if we can sort this out for you"

I pulled his chair close to mine, and gestured for him to sit down, and gently touched his shoulder to ease his discomfort. He sat down beside me, and within seconds, his burden was halved. I spoke softly to him, and the burden halved again, he was relaxed now, and so I could begin. Some people are gifted at sport, others will one day cure cancer, words were my wand. They flowed effortlessly, and I knew what to say and how to say it. Someone once told me that when I speak, it is like listening to the mellifluous lapping of waves on a deserted beach. I don't know about that, but, I could make people give up something of themselves. Something of their very core - I would use it later when these people were gone.

The day Sheila brought Hilary to my office is a day that will live long in my memory. She took a seat in the chair like so many before her, and I let the words work their wonder, but after a minute, I could still see fear and loathing in her eyes. I tried putting my hand on her shoulder, and it was batted away with disdain. She sat on her hands, and refused to look at me, and let out a deafening scream!! Shelia did her best to talk her around. She promised her all manner of things, but to no avail - she wasn't budging, her mind was made up. I was going to have to call Mike, I had never done it in 23 years, but this day, I had to do it. Mike was quick, and methodical. Hilary was putty in my hands now, as the concoction Mike administered coursed through her veins.

I stuck my needle deep a vein in her arm, extracted what I needed, filled 3 vials and Sheila and Hilary were on their way.

"Number 127 please to phlebotomy"

Hilary was the first and the last patient I had to sedate to take blood in my 30 years taking blood as a phlebotomy nurse in St Declans Hospital.
Divider.png
For those not familiar with the freewrite, you basically have 5 minutes to write a story, beginning to end, with no editing, even for spelling.. Then post it to your page.

Thanks to @mariannewest for this great outlet, I'm really enjoying having a go.

In this story, I was given each sentence in bold as a prompt. So I was given the first prompt, then had 5 minutes to freewrite, then got the second prompt, had 5 minutes to freewrite, and finally I got the third and had 5 minutes to freewrite
It is explained very well by @mariannewest in this link https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-24-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

Image Source

Sort:  

You wrote a terrific story with these prompts! That he used his gift to help relax people and put them at ease while drawing their blood was such a fantastic idea!

Thanks a mil @brisby, I probably gave the twist away with the pic and title, but was in a rush to get out the door :o)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Today your prompts are being delivered by a young, spindly legged Gerenuk who has recently moved to the town of Freewrite. (We handed him the bag, told him it was tradition that each new resident upheld, then went to luau!)

Freewrite Day 129 - Fingernail

Why thank you, you young, spindly legged Gerenuk :o) I'm behind now, I'll have to try and do two today..

Loved this!! :D

Thanks a mil @snook

You got a 9.25% upvote from @sunrawhale courtesy of @ablaze!

This service has been created with the help of @yabapmatt so please show your support by voting for him for witness!

You got a 20.12% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @ablaze!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38