Wednesday walk and Make me smile challenge collaboration results and Steem Basic Income Give away

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Wednesday walk and Make me smile challenge collaboration results and Steem Basic Income Give away

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

Following me and resteeming the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion, but you may have a better chance of receiving a Steem Basic Income Share if you do.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, resteem and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending @steembasicincomeshares to a selection of those who participate.

And if you are looking for another fun challenge, check out the Make Me Smilehosted by @elizacheng, coming soon we will be working to collaborate on occasionally on these challenges,
The third Wednesday of the month out two challenges will collaborate so if you combine the two into one post you have double the fun

This weeks Wednesday Walk on Roosevelt Island

For this weeks walk (which I must admit the photos I am sharing are from more than a week ago, I did a lot of walking last week, but haven't got to edit them yet, but this does follow on from my Feel the fear and do it anyway post where I finally got the courage to ride the cable car across to Roosevelt Island, with the initial plan to turn around and ride it back, but I ended up deciding to do a walk around some of the island before making my way back to Manhattan, but first let me tell you a little about the island
Roosevelt Island is a narrow island in New York City's East River. It lies between Manhattan Island to its west and the borough of Queens, on Long Island, to its east. IT runs from the from the equivalent of East 46th to 85th Streets on Manhattan Island, it is about 2 miles (3.2 km) long, with a maximum width of 800 feet (240 m), and a total area of 147 acres (0.59 km2)

And here is my first shot of that walk, just outside of the Cable car station there is a nice walkway along the island, on this part of the walk, there were some nice colors on the trees with the blossoms at that time.

1 Wednesday Walk on Roosevelt Island.jpg


Sony A7iii 28mm F4.5 1/200 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



This is a little further down the path where it changed to green trees, its a pleasant place for a stroll around the island, beside the east river, it was a nice day and a refreshing walk

1 Wednesday Walk on Roosevelt Island-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F4.5 1/125 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



And this is from the same spot as the previous shot, Looking back at where i had walked from and you can see the 59th Street bridge crossing to Manhtaan in the background

1 Wednesday Walk on Roosevelt Island-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F4.5 1/125 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



And a bit further down the path, I just liked the shadows of all the benches beside the walkway

1 Wednesday Walk on Roosevelt Island-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



Now I just realized as I am preparing this post the photos I edited for this post are all along that side of the island, but I did walk across and back down the other side, but I guess my favorite photos I took and hence edited for this post were all along that one pathway

1 Wednesday Walk on Roosevelt Island-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/80 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger


Steem Basic Income give away

I mentioned in the guidelines that from this week I will be sponsoring a few who join the #wednesdaywalk challenge with shares on Steem Basic Income

What is Steem Basic Income you may ask well here is how they explain it

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered by providing regular upvotes to member content. so I have decided to send some Steem Basic Income shares to 5 people selected through a random draw so on the weekend all people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk. @blueeyes8960, @jerrytsuseer, @farm-mom, @joalvarez, @oldtimer
all people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk.
And a special bonus this week @elizacheng will send one SBI share to @johannpiber


As the Third Wednesday @elizacheng and I collaborated with our Wednesday Walk and Make me Smile Challenges You can find her latest makemesmile post here

We have three lucky winners. Congrats to
@joelai (SBI winner from me )


I would love to be able to give everyone who joins a Steem Basic Income share, but I don't make enough steem each week to do so, but I will try and share them around fairly between those that join the challenge


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.758464 lat -73.958284 long Roosevelt Island Cable Car NYC d3scr

Sort:  

I love your #WednesdayWalks and I honestly don't care if you do it on one sidewalk or the whole city. The shots are beautiful, with the colors of spring shaking their head.

The lovely trees are announcing their arrival so brilliantly. I love the way you composed the shot with the bridge involved and the cityscape framed in with the railway.

Everything about these shots is lined up to perfection and the viewers' pleasure. Superb shooting.

As always, a wonderful walk and I wish you a most awesome day!

Thank you for being a great guide at #SteemUSA!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Sorry, the tip is higher than your deposit.
You can check your deposit by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: status
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD/STEEM)

Thanks so much for such a kind comment and tip :)
You sure know how to make someone feel good about themselves, today is one of the few Wednesday’s I have actually gone for a photowalk in the morning I normally use that time of Wednesday’s to catch up on posts and comments, but I just needed a walk today so I said what the heck and walked the Highline, so tonight I will be busy catching up on here lOL

Oh, yes!!! Welcome to my life! It is always running so far behind lately! Oh, my!!! There has to be a better way!

Picture me looking Studiously at my iPad during a meeting, the others think I am looking something up for the eating ( which I already know) so while they are also looking something up I will do this quick comment and return to the reality of the meeting.

As for a better way, probably there is but I don’t think you will change its the way you are and I do mean that as a compliment

I'm telling that you are having fun while you are supposed to be angsting over the meeting. LOL

Thank you.

Got to play the game, now still in the same meeting i am multi tasking between throwing out ideas commenting and looking for new shots I have worn a hole in the memory foam insole of the ones i am wearing lOL

That's what you get for walking the length of 10 Towns

LOL yeah true, but shoes normally last me 4 to 6 months I wore these out in two LOL

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the resteem Appreciated

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=4w3tug-wednesday-walk-and-make-me-smile-challenge-collaboration-results-and-steem-basic-income-give-away


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a beautiful area for a walk certainly a place you could walk around all day and never get bored of those awesome sceneries great photos i love that shadow of the benches :)

Yes a it’s I only had limited time and had to head to work I could have spent a lot on her exploring the island, and seeing he new park at the end which doesn’t open till 9AM

A bit at a time you will get around to it :)

I am considering taking some time before I move after I retire and doing a few full days in the city

Very nice. The blooms on those trees are beautiful! I have a feeling as the weather gets nicer you are going to be stockpiling a lot of photos...

Thanks and Yes I have a ton of photos taken over the last month that I haven’t even reviewed yet, and will get more over the warm months to keep me going over the winter months, not that I want to even be thinking of Winter right now LOL

Nice walk! It looks like a very quiet place. This path along the shore I like the fact that you can relax on one of the benches. We usually have a hard time finding empty seats to sit here and enjoy the view of the water. Your waterfront doesn't look crowded. These flowering trees create a pleasant atmosphere. It looks like a Sunny and warm day.

Thanks I am not sure how busy this area gets during the day but early owning its so nice and quiet and many seats available if you need to take a break

The scenery there is always amazingly beautiful and the photographer makes everything more beautiful. Those pink trees look like Cherry Blossoms, one of my favorites. And the bench shadows are so cool. I bet Melinda likes them. LOL! I am proud of you for having the courage to ride the cable car. : ) Here is my walk. https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@whatisnew/wednesday-walk-soak-in-the-color

It was a lovely area for the walk, and I am proud I finally rode the cable car but I doubt I will ever do it again LOl

Just saw your post thanks so much for joining

Have a super Saturday

So beautiful places you share

I am lucky to have so many places i can go for walks :)

The trees along your walk are beautiful and look as though they are in full bloom. Park bench shadows are huge, love how the position of the sun plays with the size of the shadow it casts!
It always looks so peaceful in the city when you take your walks.

It’s not always that peaceful. In the city trust me, thats why I like to do early morning walks, when its quiet, and it does add to some cool and long shadows :)

Thanks for your kind comment :)

Beautiful walk Jay!! The trees are absolutely gorgeous! Love the way the sunshine shines through and left those awesome shadows!💖

Thanks, it was so beautiful that morning and going early you get those cool love and dark shadows ;)

You are welcome Jay! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97