WEDNESDAY WALK: Waterfalls, Wind, Whales and Wainbows

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago


IMG_20190712_092614_251.jpg

The wintery winds and rain have definitely swept across the state in the last week, making us want to stay inside and eat stodgy food. But that would drive us stir crazy - so off we went for a drive down to Apollo Bay, on the Great Ocean Road in Victoria, Australia - about an hour an half from where I live. We decided to drive down Wild Dog Road, which is this narrow, winding road that winds it's way down to the coast - not for the faint of heart, especially given the wind that was dropping bark from the trees and trees from the embankments. Long rivulets of water were rushing downhill, ripping up the road. We agreed without maintenance, this road would be overrun by the forest soon enough.


IMG_20190712_092614_252.jpg

The views from the road were just gorgeous - misted valleys full of gum trees, dark pine forests barely holding onto rocky ravines, tree ferns, houses smoking with winter fires. I'd love a property down here, but it's a bit remote and a bit expensive! Our walk, however, was a little bit further along from Apollo Bay back towards Torquay, a place called Carisbook Falls. Given the rain, we thought it might be flowing - it's waterfall country around here but in summer they slow to a trickle.

The path winds up for about ten minutes, where you can hear the falls and see the stream in the valley below. Excuse the sideways picture.

received_475403939944874.jpeg

20190711_141002.jpeg

This photo probably doesn't do it justice - I was super annoyed as I'd left the SD card home for the good camera, and I'd promised Dad I'd take some good shots. I was instead reduced to my phone. I do like the overhanging red of the flowering she-oak and you do get a sense of the waterfall gushing behind it.

received_423072361627659.jpeg

Walking back, one of the days many rainbows showed off over the sea. It was a day of rainbows. We headed back to Apollo Bay for lunch and then a wet walk along the beach, rugged up with scarves and hats.

20190711_141108.jpeg

20190711_123703.jpeg

We did spy a whale with Jamie's binoculars - it's whale season on the coast so if you keep an eye out you can be lucky! Sadly I didn't have my zoom lens (and as I said, I was sans SD card) but I wanted to share a shot or two of the whales I managed to JUST capture last week when we were on our road trip! Now is a good opportunity as any - who knows, it could be the same way we saw on our walk anyway! They aren't the best photos - it's amazing I managed to get them at all with the zoom as they were a way off - but hey, it's P.O.W - proof of whale!!

image.png

image.png

Where have you wal



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

image.png


Mindfullife.png
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

Wow! Wicked wonderful way with words, wiverflows! 😉 😂

Seriously, love your style, and those photos (especially the rainbows and whales) are awesome - especially considering you were using a camera phone! Thanks for inviting us along on your wanders! 😊

Wiverflows! I wuv it! He he.

Glad you enjoyed it! I must do more Wednesday walks, and think of other alliterative features I can use, as it was kinda fun sharing it with you all! xx

LOL!

And I hope you do - I've been on a super silly streak of almost annoying alliterative titles in the past few weeks. It would be nice to have someone else torturing people joining in on the walking fun!

Hahah you're on.. lets do it!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful scenery, Rainbows and whales what a delightful post and walk :)

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

You're welcome!

👍😎👍

Wow what beautiful scenery! It's a totally different picture than what I had in my mind that Australia looks like!
Those she-oaks are awesome - you have some wonderful trees in Australia and many very different from what we have here!
Awesome shots of the rainbows!
Thanks for sharing, love to see your part of the world!

A lot of people have a particular view of Australian landscapes and are suprised when I show them mine! You'd love our forests, @porters. Very different from your boreal forests!

I loved the wainbows the best. HUGE!!

You can't beat a wainbow!!!

What incredible pictures you got! Those views were amazing!

Building Ourselves - One Block at a time

#innerblocks

Discord-https://discord.gg/XnJtNjd
https://www.theinnerblocks.com/

Beautiful photos, great alliteration!
I didn't know there were places in Australia so tropically lush. Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, well, I couldn't fit 'rainbow' into the alliterative title, so had to be silly with it! It's temperate forest really - not tropical - very cold this wintery day! Tropical lush forests are more north of me.

Wow. What an amazing views from your walk. Wish I was there.

I would love to live on that property. So beautiful and so peaceful.

I have never spotted or seen a whale in person.
I lived and spend a bit of time on the beach in El Salvador, but never spotted a whale and I have never seen a rainbow over the ocean.

This is so cool. I can just imagine how cool it must feel to experience this gorgeous nature

I wish I could send you oceans of rainbows! They are common here after rainfall in the winter.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=riverflows
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-waterfalls-wind-whales-and-wainbows


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You have the most awesome view!! Such a cosy walk...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16