Back to the Farm! {Wednesday Walk}

Happy Wednesday all! I hope you are all enjoying the week so far. As usual each month, I can't believe where the days have flown by. How are we already halfway through the year? It feels as though 2019 just started!

IMG_20190625_115431549.jpg

Well, I keep doing my best to take each day as it comes and enjoy taking moments to do what brings me pleasure when I can. Though it is getting quite hot out now as we are right in the thick of summer, it is still a blast when we get to do something that takes us outside for the better part of the day. Over the weekend and beginning of this week I was hovered over the computer a good bit, so it was particularly rewarding to get out to the farm again yesterday to pick more fruit! Yeah, yeah, I've shared about doing this before, but it will never get old to me. It's an excellent way to join in on @tattoodjay's Wednesday Walk, as well!

IMG_20190625_121704628_HDR.jpg

Though it was just three weeks ago that we went to the farm previously, so much changes in that short period of time out in the fields! This time around the strawberries are long gone, but we finally got to head into the peach orchard. The bales of hay up front also represented the change in season with the fun artwork on the bed of the truck. No blueberries this time around, but before hitting peaches we first decided to head into the blackberries to grab some of those before it got too hot out in the sun. We grabbed an empty bucket each and started to walk on down.

IMG_20190625_112734214.jpg

Though they look like raspberries, those are just the blackberries starting to ripen up in the sun!

IMG_20190625_112915339.jpg

Looking lower you can see all the stages of development. Kind of fun to see all the different colors as the berries mature!

IMG_20190625_103643007.jpg

However, the bushes were just dripping with ripe, juicy blackberries! I think I picked my first gallon bucket in about 15 minutes. Though they were delicious back when we first picked some, these are really sweet and plump this time around. More rain has definitely helped the last few weeks. Since there were so many berries, I ran back up to get a third bucket while @dksart was still filling his up. The season is so fleeting, so no sense not taking advantage while it is here. Plus, I didn't want those perfect berries rotting and going to waste. 😉

IMG_20190625_120037530_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

After filling up our blackberry buckets, we walked across to the peaches. There were definitely plenty of peaches on the trees, though they were a bit tougher to find nice ripe ones. It seemed that the ones that were perfect were already getting attacked by bugs (I can't blame the insects--fresh peaches are divine when ripe and juicy). I think we still got plenty of good ones, they'll just take a few days to soften up before we really dig in! It really is so nice spending time underneath the trees. Much cooler, and it was pretty quiet with not too many people picking when we were.

IMG_20190625_120216728.jpg

With our bags and buckets full, we walked back up to the store to pay. It's an hour drive back home, so we also made sure to use the facilities before leaving. Right outside the restrooms is a fun display of farm signs on the wall. They have lots of rocking chairs outside to sit and rest your picking muscles, too. 😉

IMG_20190625_121802085.jpg

I hope you enjoyed another walk through the fruit farm! We certainly did! Though now I'll be busy the rest of the week working on my haul before any of it goes bad. Good thing it will be quite tasty work...

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

omg blackberries ftw. also sloe gin. winning.

Haha, nice! These are seriously the best blackberries I've had. At least since last season. 😜 I was actually talking to my boyfriend while we were picking about trying to make blackberry wine, but we might just eat them all before that could happen...

yeah it takes a lot not to eat the lot tbh. but a friend of mine makes really really great sloe gin if i collect a bunch for him ;)

Sounds like a good friend to have. Mutually beneficial on both ends. ;)

yes mam. always gotta work the angles!

Love me some fresh blackberries ...

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies. Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Ohhhhhhh the peaches!!!! Nothing like Georgia peaches Katie! I am so hungry now. I hope a few of those make their way to Florida! :) Nothing like a juicy peach! Those blackberries were huge, and I'm sure quite tasty. Love it!

If I send them to you now, they might just be perfect by the time they get there! I was channeling you when I made the blackberry zucchini bread after seeing those yummy cherry muffins this week for fruits and veggies. I did save another cup of the shredded zucchini to pop in another one to freeze maybe tomorrow. :)

Love the light inthe first shot and how cool is the art onthe hay Bales love it

I thought the first shot was raspberries shows it been to long since i have bene out picking fruit
When I was a teenager i used to work I Market gardens they grew a little of everything so I remember how tiring a full day of fruit picking can be but strangely that hasn’t put me off it i have loved the times I have gone fruit picking just for me and the family :)
And then Peaches i think they are my Favorite fruit especially when freshly picked, glad you managed ot get a good amount of them that had not been attacked by Insects :)

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)
And thanks for being an active member of SteemUSA 1tp

I loved how the light came through the leaves, too! So serene underneath the tree cover with the smell of peaches all around. It really is tough work doing all of that picking, but I can't complain this time since the blackberries pretty much picked themselves! I think @dswigle got us with raspberries on the brain after talking about her delicious backyard full of them!

Yes your right it’s @dswigle making trouble again lol 😂

Yes the fresh smell in orchards is enticing and makes fruit picking seem fun especially when picking fir yourself 👍😎👍

Where is your farm!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is about 30 minutes or so south of Atlanta, Georgia! Just outside of our capital city. :) Nice to have it close enough to enjoy when we can.

What a gorgeous haul you got there! Those blackberries and peaches are to die for, just yumm! Can't wait to see what you're going to do with all of that @plantstoplanks!

Always so much fun to hit the farm! Though my brain always seems to fog over on how much fruit that actually is. After freezing some of the blackberries, my little chest freezer in the basement is almost at capacity! Luckily I have some extra room in the freezer upstairs for whatever I can't get to fresh out of this round. :)

Oops I missed up the !tip so had to come back :)

I adore all your photos, but the one of you holding peach is absolutely precious. You are both so adorable 🍑😊🍑

Anyway, it looks like there is lots of goodies on the way! Yum! I can't wait to see them 🍇🍑🍇

Haha, holding all that fresh fruit is enough to make any vegan gal smile, right? I was looking back at that peach and blackberry treat you shared. I might be able to make that before the peaches get totally soft...🤤

You got that right Katie, lol.

And I am really curious how it will turn out if you make it, because I still need to practice on that one, lol. I will make it again with some other fruit, I just have to wait a little bit longer. Probably with strawberry and rhubarb 🍓😊🍇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63