Wednesday Walk | Shibazakura & Springtime Campus

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago


A (Spring) Wednesday Walk Around Campus


IMGP0074.jpeg


CategoryEveryday Life
CameraPentax K-3
LensTamron 90 mm
SettingsISO 400 f/4 1/4000

A little over a month ago, I posted a #wednesdaywalk around a small park that was getting ready for spring by planting lots of "shibazakura," or, ground-covering sakura (cherry blossoms). Since then, well, Spring has arrived and the results are spectacular.

The problem is, today, Wednesday, I couldn't actually get to the park because it's a working day for me. But I still wanted to upload a couple of photos from the park so...I'm posting them here, with today's Wednesday Walk photos below. Thanks for being patient.

IMGP0088.jpeg

The park really isn't that big - it took me about 30 minutes to do a circumference of the whole thing and that was even after stopping to take pictures every thirty seconds - but it is really pretty. I've tried to show the breadth of the park in these two photos. In the one at the top of this post, you can see how the flowers climb the hill in discrete sections ending up at the observation tower. In the one just above this paragraph, you can see how the park incorporates curves and different colors and kinds of flowers to break up the view a bit.

IMGP0091.jpeg

And you can see in this picture the four different colors of shibazakura. I'm a fan of the blue-purple while my daughter prefers the darker pink ones.


P1120043.jpeg

Now for the actual Wednesday part of the post: today was my first day on campus for the spring semester; I spent about thirty minutes walking around campus before classes started, just getting a read on the atmosphere and taking in the local landmarks. My favorite coffee spot is not quite up to full spring glory yet, but it's getting there very quickly.

P1120045.jpeg

Meanwhile, the campus flowerbeds are bursting with color.

P1120051.jpeg

And my second favorite coffee spot is just about ready for visitors. The flowers will continue to fill out the areas around the benches and soon green grass will make this wooded spot the perfect place to avoid my students, er, uh, grade papers. :)

Finally, a bonus picture of Lucy the Dog from yesterday. She really enjoyed the flowers at the park, but still can't understand why the bees won't be her friend.

IMGP0109.jpeg

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Fantastic park! And your shots are absolutely gorgeous! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much. Your blog looks great, too.

Thank you! Hope to see you again soon 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow what a change in this park an explosion of color my favorite like you is the blues purples

Don’t worry about doing the walk on other than a Wednesday hi have to admit with keeping up with the Wednesday Walk posts my walks are seldom on a Wednesday 😎 the walk can be any day if the week

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thanks, Jay. I won't worry so much about the actual day of the week in future posts. :) But, while I'm here, let me just say thanks again for building a community. I appreciate it.

If you can do the post on a Wednesday its good for me but if not any day is fine as well I dont have rules just guidelines :)

🎁 Hi @misterbob! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Towers Old And New Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @misterbob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75