Wednesday Walk in Rockland

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

For my #WednesdayWalk I set out to find and photograph the place where my free TV signal comes from. It would prove to be an uphill walk.

Wednesday Walk is the creation of @tattoodjay. Check out his post here.

lwd8d3ug30.jpg
There's a tall building less than a mile from my house that has a bunch of radio masts and communications gear on the roof, and it broadcasts four TV channels in digital HD. Remember broadcast TV? As in no cable, you just have an antenna? That how I get my TV. Those four channels plus internet so I can have Netflix and Prime Video and whatever. That's all I have for TV and it seems plenty to me!

s2v3m7bdgh.jpg
The building is on top of a hill and you can see it from all over town, but it's rather odd because it isn't on a main road. In fact, I didn't actually know what street it's on or how to get there. All I knew was it was uphill so I started walking in the general direction.

tr4p4vhd3v.jpg
I'm heading up a steep road with cool old houses. I get the impression that a lot of these houses are single family dwellings - not split up into multiple suites as is fairly common in Victoria. Any house this size in Fernwood would have six or eight apartments. This isn't Fernwood, it's Rockland. A lot more money in Rockland...

1q018o92km.jpg
Up we go, this hill seems to go on forever. Or maybe I'm just getting old! Gasp!

3605qs4cyc.jpg
I get my first look at the mystery tower. It's roughly a fifteen story building which is tall for this neighbourhood. You can see the TV broadcast tower on top.

teq6u612p1.jpg
I keep climbing and I can see it's closer, but it still isn't obvious how to get there.

beqf1gi408.jpg
At the top of the hill I get my first clear view, but there is no entrance here.

tuk83lw5b3.jpg
And now I'm past it, and there is always a fence or a home or something in the way. I have to circle around to find the entrance. Check out that guys house... in Victoria, that's a gazillion dollars. Real Estate prices here are insane.

du5woev6q4.jpg
I had my Olympus EM-5 Mk ii set up in HDR mode as an experiment. It fires off four shots and combines them into a single image. I didn't like the look, and I've tried to process the HDRishness out of the final photos with some success, but they still look a little weird to me.

4hztqpfxl4.jpg
Finally after a long walk I'm all the way around on the other side and I can see the tower, behind some shorter building. Now I'm sure there is a way in...

69pvxrp3w7.jpg
I get over to the main entrance and I see a sign: The Rockland. And it's still uphill and I have to go past that first building. I decide to bail out, my feet are killing me! I now have a long walk downhill to get back to Fernwood. I'll spare you the next 20 photos. :-)
sdisod6lrp.jpg
Fifteen minutes later I'm almost back down to my area. I stopped in this park to check out the baby Giant Sequoia tree (left side) That's probably less than a hundred years old, and they can live to be 2,000. Just a baby, and it can grow a lot bigger than this, like at least double the height.

That's more than enough photos for anyone I'm sure, so I'll stop here and go put some ice on my knees. Hope you're having a wonderful week. Thanks for coming along!

Sort:  

Wow! Classy neighborhood! Did you have a reason to want to meet your TV antenna tower personally? That's not something I guess I have ever thought of. But it does look like it was a great excuse for a walk.

This reporter will go to any lengths to manufacture a story.

Well well well...look who finally decided to get off the couch! lol..hey I love those style of homes there. Victorian style in Victoria! Dang how far did walk today anyway? You should do the actifit thing.

Yeah, I'm awake now. I walked about five miles. Up and down the hills at the end just about killed me ;-)

wow sir Keith! you are dedicated! At least coming back was downhill. All that so you could get great pictures for a post! That's impressive.

Such an interesting area having worked on Communications towers and various antennas over the years I wa slooking forward to seeing the tower closer, but not overdoing it and your knees was more important

Some real nice properties in your area

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

The really nice places I didn't capture because they're behind walls and 12 foot hedges. I had a 17mm prime lens on my micro 4/3 camera so I couldn't get close to the tower at all. Thanks very much :-)

Ohh yes that lens limits your reach for sure but you got some also shots with it

Cheers

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: A Winter Wonderland Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I love all the rocks and mossy looking spaces of up north. This reminds me very much of walks on vacations.

At least the walk back was downhill. Although downhill is just as painful sometimes.

I think downhill was worse!

Beautiful Homes!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Beautiful houses and unusual block of flats. Looks like nobody lives there.

Ah, maybe that's true! I never did get close enough to see.

Hey......I don't want you to spare us the next 20 photos Keith! I enjoyed every single one in your Wednesday Walk. Those house are massive and all very different from each other and from what we have in this part of the world.

Thanks so much for climbing to the top of that hill to bring us this interesting blog. I'm looking forward to seeing those 20 other images. 🤣

I couldn't do that to you or anybody else, Trudee. I'll find something else to post tomorrow! Thanks so much for your support. :-)

I'll trust your judgment then Keith.....but only if you're absolutely sure we are not missing out. 😊

The photo's look really good! And what a neighborhood.

Thanks very much, Ross

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45