Wednesday Walk. Along The Salt Pans

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Todays Wednesday walk is along a stretch of coast called the salt pans. The salt pans were cut in the rocks thousands of years ago by the Phoenicians. Originally, they followed the natural shape of the rock formations. (The ground is limestone so quite soft.) Later came the arrival of romans and with true Roman efficiency they were converted to square and rectangular pans.

This is a relatively short walk of a round a half mile, as the salt pans are quite distinct. I did not want to mix it up with other areas that the salt pans run into.

The Mediterranean Sea is quite a salty sea. The sea has evaporated a few times leaving the salt behind. Around 5 million years ago the ground moved at the straights of Gibraltar allowing water from the Atlantic Ocean to refill the sea. So, the sea water already salty had extra salt beneath it to enrich its salt density. For more information I found this short article that explains the salt density further should you wish to find out more. https://www.livescience.com/42115-giant-salt-crisis-explained.html

Water from the sea floods the saltpans and the heat of summer evaporates the water leaving behind sea salt.
The pans are mostly family owned, some collect the salt, some don't bother. In recent years many of the pans have been refurbished so maybe more of the pans are being utilized now.

I started the walk looking at the older pans that follow the natural shape of the rock. Notice the larger pools. I will come to that later.
IMG_5640.JPG

Next is the Roman modified pans again with the larger pools. These are quite worn and eroded by weather. (Acid rain is not good on limestone.) I don't think I would fancy salt on my food from these pans.
IMG_5649.JPG

The next pans have been refurbished and are in much better condition. Obviously, these are worked. IMG_5651.JPG

A few more salt pans here IMG_5615.JPG

I said I would cover the large ponds. IMG_5628.JPG

Sea water is put into the large ponds where the water evaporates leaving the salt rich water behind. Like cooking where food is reduced to thicken it. Then the salt rich water is decanted into the shallow pools for final evaporation before the salt is harvested.

There are quite a lot of pans all along this area.

IMG_5633.JPG

Once collected the salt is or was, stored in man-made caves.
IMG_5641.JPG

The door to the left is a sea salt store and the guy on the right is selling salt from the side of the road. He used to park his truck diagonally across the carriageway so motorists were forced to slow down as they passed. I suspect he has been warned off doing that.
IMG_5650.JPG

While walking I came across this. It was not there last year, someone has gone to a lot of trouble to create this spiral. (It has nothing to do with salt pans,) someone just decided to do it. Interesting & surprisingly relaxing to look at. I might use the picture in a future music video.
IMG_5620.JPG

This is the end of this walk today. Next time I will continue from where the salt pans finished. Hope you enjoy the walk as much as I did walking it.

Sort:  

Great shots and what an interesting area

I know I visited Salt pans in that area somewhere many years ago but not sure if it was there

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk

These are the most visited so I suspect they are the same. Thanks for the competition by the way.

@honeycup-waters Yes I guess it was there such an amazing experience eot visit there

Thanks for the interesting story. I got a lot of pleasure from viewing Your photos, which are a good addition to this photo story. A nice walk, @honeycup-waters :)

Thanks very much, soon I think I will run out of places to photograph other than yellow barren ones. we have no rivers, lakes or waterfalls. In fact we have little greenery other than crops.

Oh, no! I think You just forgot That you still have amazing sunrises and sunsets. This will also cause admiration :)

Funny you should mention sunsets. My walk last week was about Azure Window which fell down. I found out this week that now that the area will likely be less popular there are plans to promote sunsets. Many locals go there in the evening to BBQ and watch the sunsets as they are amazing. So why not show the tourists.

Sunsets are always a beautiful sight :). I will gladly return to Your blog to look at them. Good luck!

Hi @honeycup-waters! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday In The City Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Very iteresting walk, photos and story!
Gotta love the Mediterranean sea (salt) :) Glad you are enjoying steemit. ) Cheers

Thanks very much. I really am enjoying Steemit although there is so much to learn. I have never been happy with FB, Twitter etc. all seems to be more childish stupidity than grown up stuff. Now I feel I have found a home.

Hi honeycup-waters,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Very nice shots, That looks like a great trip to take. Did you taste the salt and if so... does it taste like table salt?

Sorry I missed this earlier, we have family over so out a lot and then thunderstorms so the internet has to go off. So far we have lost three modems, one TV box and three power blocks due to lightening. Roll on fibre later this year.

Yes we have tasted the salt, to me its like any other salt but slightly stronger, but my better half thinks its wonderful for cooking and uses it all the time. I like eating food, but I am not so handy at cooking it. So what Jaks says must be true as she does the cooking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97