You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk - A wander through someone's yard last week

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Good for you, Traci!!! I love when you get out into nature and then treat us later with the goods!

Hydrangea is spot on and sometimes hard to detect as there are so many different kinds. I want to disagree with the Hibiscus as I think that it is a Rose of Sharon, especially with the way the buds are balled up looking like they do. Oh, yes! I could be wrong!! But, that is what I think they are. Also, are they planted in the ground? Rose of Sharon can take the climate if they are and hibiscus is tropical and grows best in warmer climates.

The large ones like dinner plates, I believe are hybiscuas.. . That is my story and I'm sticking to it!

Have a great day!

!tip

Sort:  

Regardless of whether or not you're right about the ID, I just have to say that I love the name, "Rose of Sharon" - it sounds so wonderfully Irish! 💚

And I have high regard for your story, and you are most likely correct. Hopefully the homeowners will shout out at some point (the eldest sent them a link to the WordPress version of this post) and clear up the mystery. Much appreciate your flower detective skills, Denise!

Oh, and to answer your questions, the bush with the smaller buds is planted in the ground and it was huge - big enough that I could take the pictures without having to bend down. The huge flowers were in the ground, along the fence, and only about two or three feet tall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95