The Salt Lake City Temple in Spring -= Wednesday Walk =-

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

For most of the people when they hear about Utah they think about this, mormons and their temple. Mormonism is often the number one thing that is affiliated with Utah. It has it's goods and bads. On one hand the Mormons have many good and kind hearted beliefs in trying to create a better way of life. On the other hand their beliefs are very oppressive and invasive in others lives. You do end up having to Nerf your world living here but I am sure that is how it is in many places. The separation between church and state is very subjective here, but that is for another day and another blog post. Today we will admire the beauty that their temple has and what it has to offer. In the downtown area of Salt Lake City the temple is a must visit. You are free to walk around the temple and check out many of the building that were constructed over the many years. The temples are amazing but you are not aloud to go in because you need a recommendation from your religious leader. Many people only get to go in durning their weddings or when they do Baptisms for the dead anyways. Fun Fact: Anne Frank has been baptized for over ten times since her passing. Another Fun Fact: If you have family members that get married here and you are not in the club you have to sit outside the temple, this happened to my grandma and I when I was young. We had to sit outside while my cousins got married, I found it weird then and I find it weird now but I digress. I will try not to get into it much but I have a lot to say about it. For the walk though, you can not deny the beauty and history that was built here. Every language that is in written form is represented here. They have missionaries here form all over the world and will talk to you in any language. There is no escaping the attempt to spread their word in here, the missionaries will bombard you. Once you get passed the missionaries and start walking the grounds you really get to admire what has been built. It took over 80 years to build the temple itself. Most that started it died and their children took up the task of finishing it. They did originally build it on sandstone and it fell apart, so they did have to rebuild it but that is nor here nor there. Spring time is one of the best times to visit though. The grounds here are beautiful and the history is really interesting. Regardless of your beliefs this place is defiantly worth checking out. If you come to SLC this is definitely a places to check out but don't forget some of the coolest mountains and hikes are only 15 minutes away, so don't get hung up on the temple. Do get out of the city and see what Utah really has to offer..
...
Sorry for the long winded into. I tend to have a lot to say on the topic, but enough is enough and here are some photos that I hope you enjoy of the Salt Lake City Temple. :D
..
.

Mornoi from under the park trees.JPG
.
Moroni from the back on the temple park.JPG
.
The fresh blooms in front of the temple.JPG
.
The soft little pink flowerings on the trees.JPG
.
There are many cherry trees here because Utah actually has it's own type of cherry here. It is a bitter cherry but none the less it makes for beautiful spring time views.
.
The back of the temple.JPG
.
The odd trees in the temple grounds.JPG
.
The odd tree in front of the little temple building.JPG
.
The back side of the temple grounds is interesting as well. It has more of a Harry Potter vibe and is a little more random.
.
The little stone bench in the flower garden.JPG
.
The lone bench under the purple tree.JPG
.
There are many little spots around the temple you can sit and take it all in.
.
The fresh blooms on the temple trees.JPG
.
The grand moroni on the temple.JPG
.
Don't forget about the solid gold statue on top of all the temples. The angel Moroni is a big part of the Mormon religion and is always facing east and is on top of all their temples.
.
The temple from the garden.JPG
.
The grand salt lake city temple from the lawn.JPG
..
.
The temple grounds are massive and there is a lot to see. A lot of beauty and a lot of interesting corners of this place. I hope you get to see it at some point. It is a cool thing to check out.
...
Thanks for making it this far though, you rock and roll.
..
..
..
A special Thank You to @tattoodjay for creating the awesome #wednesdaywalk
Be sure to check it out and join along for the fun. You will not be disappointed.
.
.

  • Photos shot on my Nikon d7000 , 35mm | @slc, Utah
Sort:  

Your photos are gorgeous! I love the different focus points..

Oh, once I saw a documentary about them and I was shocked about the rules that they have. I'm not going to talk about it in detail as I don't want to offend anyone.. but I just want to say that I didn't even think that something like this existed :)

BUT at least you can walk in the area.. it looks like a nice green part of the city..

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Thanks a lot :D. Yeah the temple grounds are amazing! Almost all the temples they make all over the world are like this. The make some amazing sites. Even in the winter they make this place amazing. The cover all the trees and plants with holiday lights and it looks awesome. The beliefs are a little odd in my opinion but they are so friendly and inviting. If you get the chance to check out the grounds you really should. The history is interesting and they always make them something to look at. You just have to watch out for the questionnaires and inquiring. Haha.

Hi bricbric,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

hi @bricbric
this place is really beautiful, and your photos fully express the nature that is reborn in spring. More than seeing the temple I'd like to eat the cherries of those beautiful pink trees !!
congratulations on your curie vote and thanks for sharing with us

Haha, thank you! Yea the trees are amazing this time of year and they cherries are... ok. Haha. Some are a little bitter on these trees but oh man do they make great jams and pies. You need to come into town and try some. You will see a lot of trees growing them all around :D

During my first two years in college, here in Venezuela, I shared an apartment with two guys who were Mormons. They were very into it, eventually both of them quit. Anyways, On sundays, we had this lunch time when they invited some of the missionaries and we shared some of their experience. We were styudying english, so the presence of some gringos was more than welcome, we needed to practice our english.
In the process, of course, they tried to convert us (another friend and I) to mormonism. We even visited their local church as "researchers".
I liked many things about their religion, their organization, their discipline, their sort of corporate view of organzied religion.
I even got my Book of Mormon and read quite a bit of it.
Of course, I ended up rejecting most of the story (never considered to join the church, etc. Many questionable issues, like with all churches), but I enjoyed the company and the lessons.
One thing I do remember was the Chorus of the Tabernacle. They had these tapes they'd listen to on sundays and I ended up developing some taste for it.
I was also impressed by the devotion with which they talked about THE TEMPLE. It was Mecca for them. My mormon friends dreamed of visiting, of marrying there, etc.
And that leads me to your post (and you thought you were digressing). Amazing!
Just incredible photographs. I think that if my friends had shown me these pictures back then, I would have converted!
Just impressive structure and the aesthetic around it is simply a proof of the good things humanity can do when it puts all energy and resources to it.

It is very interesting to say the least, haha. On one hand you have some of the most amazing peoples and some amazing ways of life. Then on the other hand you have some of the actual teaching in the Book of Mormon that are straight up shocking. The way that some glaze over it is very interesting. They defiantly keep the wow factor up with things like this to be more convincing to people and hide a lot of the things that this is all based on. It is amazing to hear that you actually did your research though and didn't get rushed into a life changing experience. The fact that you have read a lot of the Book of Mormon is more than I can say for a lot of the Mormons here haha. I think they defiantly take this place for granted. You should defiantly come and check it out. You should come to Salt Lake and see the temple, as well as the beautiful landscapes here. I bet you would really enjoy it and I bet you would really enjoy a lot more things around here.

I am sure I would. I lived in the States for 7 years,mbut spent all of that time in the midwest (Ohio, Illinois). Did not have the chance to go west.
One of my friends from college, though, did have the chance to go to Utah and Idaho. Unfortunatelly, he was not very lucky and was even robbed by some people who were living n the same rented place.
He did go to the Temple, though. He told me it was worth the effort.
He is living in Chile now, part of the Venezuelan exodus.

Damn sorry to here about your buddy getting robbed. People all over are ass holes lol. Defiantly come to Utah if you get the chance because I think you work have a really good time. I will say that I have been wanting to go to Chile and Venezuela for awhile and I will definitely be checking them out in the future.

Do not come to Venezuela just now, unless you're up for an extreme adventure. The country is not even a shadow of what it was 15 or 20 years ago.
Hopefully things will change for the better soon. As they are now, I would not advice anyone to come except to document the most bizarre social, political and economic disaster in modern history (especially if we consider that Venezuela is an oil producer and has probably one of the widest variety of mineral resources)

I found your intro quite interesting I wondered what it was like living there and interesting fun facts', but the photos are gorgeous

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

There are a lot of little interesting things that go on here that I don't think many people no about. I am sure it is like that everywhere but it is a little bit of a secret here, or at least they try to keep it that way. Defiantly a beautiful place no the less, defiantly worth checking out.

I am sure there must be so many interesting things gong in there some well known some kept quiet

Nice shots of the temple. I grew up in a 90% mormon town, they're pretty nice people in general though they failed at converting me. Many of my mormon friends ended up becoming atheists after leaving the town.

Posted using Partiko Android

It couldn't agree more. The people are some of the nicest and they defiantly want to get more people on their teams but with the internet and more information out there it seems that everyone change their minds more than them changing others. A good portion of my friends here are the same. Grew up in the church and changed once they got a little older.

Your photos are fabulous! I have visited the Mormon temple in Nauvoo, IL. The grounds are so beautiful there, too.

Thank you :D yea they defiantly have some of the most beautiful temples all around. They are very interesting inside as well. If you ever get the chance to go inside you should check it out.

That temple is truely impressive and the solid gold statue on top is awesome. I know almost nothing about the mormons and it was interesting to read your post. All your photos are wonderful.

Thank you, thank you. They most defiantly keep a beautiful temple and the sites are always amazing. Mormons are super nice but they have tricks up their sleeves, haha. You should check out some of the temples they have around.

Oh lord, UTAH is pretty. When I think of Utah, deserts came into my mind, not sure why.

But now its all dreamy. Look at that whiteness of the structure and pinkness of flowers.

Beautiful, thanks for sharing :)

You are not far off, haha. A good portion and a lot of my favorite locations here in Utah are desert. The red rocks and the plains are really amazing. They are just as dreamy as the beauty of the spring flowers here in my opinion. You defiantly need to swing into Utah and check some of the beauty out. You will not be disappointed. :D

hehe interesting fact, I googled Utah and its in US. I used to think its somewhere around UAE, but I am happy I was right about the desert part.

Utah one day, oh yeaah babyyy Utah I am coming :p

That is close enough I would say. Haha. I would say we have more interesting deserts though, we have more types of different ones. Defiantly come check out Utah! It is a great stop.

Woot woot yuppp

A very beautiful building and even more so when shot through the cherry blossom. I am not very religious so wouldn't really want to go inside anyway but from the outside I think this building is stunning.

The outside of the temple is defiantly something to look at. The grounds here are always amzing. Even in the winter. The place is covered in snow but they light up the entire area with holiday lights and it looks awesome. The inside though, is a trip. Even more marble and gold then should be aloud in a place like this haha. You can check out the new temples before they bless them but once they do you need a temple recommendation unfortunately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88