You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some things are built to last

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

London was one of the cities of my teenage dreams. As they talk about the 1960s-70s, this admiration was caused by the angry youngsters, the Beat culture. London, which I admired and dreamed about was that of Antonioni's Blow-up, I do not know if you know it. It was the dreams of a young man who lived in a communist country with very little access to information and without the freedom to travel outside the country.
Dickensian London terraced houses are just like in the movie and it is my impression of London.
Robin Hood Gardens is a building with an architecture that was also used in Romania, I think they are still in use now.
Thanks for the presentation, brought me many memories of my youth.

Sort:  

I do recall the movie by Antonioni's - Blow-up. It was an exceptional film. Lots of london does still look like the Dickensian street scene. You just have to know where to look.
The Brutalist movement was very powerful in the 1960's and to find them in Romania still today as well, does not surprise me at all. They have mostly been demolished in the UK but some people still like them as a form of architecture?

I'm sure there are many streets, buildings like the Dickensian street scene. Is it called tradition or conservatism?

I guess they just survived somehow, the bombing during the war, the slum clearances. The various waves of people migrating always ended up in this area. It is now host to the most recent wave of migrants...the Hipsters!

Wow! I was afraid you were talking about the Romanians. You must know that many of those who say they are Romanians ... are not even Romanians!

Ha ha I'm sure there are a few 'Hipster' Romanians where you are? Can't say that I have met any Romanians as I don't usually ask people what their nationality is as it's irrelevant to me. I'm a citizen of the world as you are too. :-)

Thank you! I think the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76