Bunnies, Blooms and the Birds at Denver Botanic Garden

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0568(2).jpg

If we all could see the world through the eyes of a child, we would see the magic in everything!


chee vai tang


As I watched my grandson gazing out the window this morning, I heard him whisper “Wow...” Saddling up next to him in the window I realized he was looking at a large yellow tractor positioned in the yard behind the house. He was mesmerized, his full attention fixed on the scene.


How often do we take a moment to feel the simple joy of our surroundings, especially nature?


Today that’s just what we’re planning to do!

While mom and dad took a few minutes to themselves, my grandson and I decided we would make muffins. It was definitely a hands- on experience! I’m not used to having so much help in the kitchen, lol.


IMG_1724 (2).jpg

Whew, ready for the oven!


IMG_1729 (2).jpg


While the muffins were baking we talked about exploring the city, there are so many places to see it’s tough to choose just one. Naptime takes precedence of course, unwelcomed by some but necessary after a long morning of play, walks and muffins!


Soon we were off! Our destination, Denver Botanic Gardens!


This botanical garden…


is conveniently located in Downtown Denver, Colorado. Known as The Mile High City, Denver sits 5,280 feet above sea level! With water bottles, hats and sunglasses in hand we were on our way! Time to explore!
IMG_1740 (2).jpg

Obviously someone was pretty anxious to be on his way! Wait, you need shoes!


IMG_1846 (2).jpg

A popular spot for many… perhaps even wedding pictures?


IMG_1745 (2).jpg

A 24 acre park…


designed in the 1950’s. Known as one of the largest botanical gardens in the United States, I knew we wouldn’t be disappointed. Flowers galore!

IMG_1757 (2).jpg

Snow is in the forecast for Thursday…


My heart sank, could this be the last chance to enjoy this beauty?
IMG_1763 (2).jpg

Splendid Sculptures just around the bend!


IMG_1764 (2).jpg

Another beauty!


Most of the plants, trees and flowers throughout the gardens are native to the area. Drought and weather resistant, each have been handpicked to survive the cold Colorado winters.
IMG_1771 (2).jpg

18 pristine gardens…


grace the park. Inspired by gardens found Japan, China, South Africa and the Tropics, these gardens are magnificient, each special in their own way. Perfect for an afternoon picnic.
IMG_1799 (2).jpg

A girl and her turtle…


by sculptor Elsie Herino donated to the garden.
IMG_1789 (2).jpg

And on we go! So much to see and so little time!


IMG_1861 (2).jpg

He loved the flowers just as much as I did! Lots of Ohhh’s and Wow’s, lol.


IMG_1786 (2).jpg

Could I have a lift Mom?


We had certainly walked quite a bit, his little legs needed a rest.
IMG_1885 (2).jpg

A surprise around every corner!


The South African Plazza complete with native grasses, waving in the fall breeze.
IMG_1802 (2).jpg

Waterfalls too!


One of many pristine lakes and ponds within the garden.
IMG_1815 (2).jpg

By this time we were getting a wee bit tired…


time to pull out the stroller and head back to the car. Just as we turned the last corner we captured one last surprise!
IMG_1807 (2).jpg


We didn’t begin to scratch the surface! This park has so much to see. It was truly a magical day! The sense of awe you feel; seeing all of these beautiful flowers and gardens, such a blessing! I have to thank my friend @tattoodjay for giving us #Wednesdaywalk, a wonderful opportunity to share our day enjoying nature and it’s beauty! I hope you’ll take a moment to take a walk today, even if just for a moment. I promise you’ll be glad you did!


When we arrived home, the sun was beginning to set….and I caught myself saying Wow!

IMG_1711 (2).jpg


Thanks for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Good grief! He's walking already!

I know!!! Time flies! And boy does he take off, lol I just have to say, what a joy and blessing he is :) I'm so glad to hear from you, hope all is well with you! Too quiet around the steem engine these days!

What a precious post my friend, I would also be saying WOW, we truly live in a beautiful world! Your photos are all stunning Mrs Bird, hard to pick a favourite but for capturing a moment, the very first one with your grandson wins! Great seeing the South African piazza there;)

Thank you @lizelle, I just have to say this little one is so precious and fun to be with. We do live in a beautiful world, and to really appreciate it though his eyes makes everything even more lovely. So glad you enjoyed our visit, I truly appreciate your kindness :) You're the best! Thanks my friend!

He's so cute and what a beautiful place for photos @birdsinparadise. Thank you. 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @wonderwop, it was a fun day with him. So many smiles and laughter :)

What a sweet shot to start the post with, and then a WOW sunset to finish the post :)
and so many wonderful shots I can't comment on them all but that gazebo or whatever it is and that second sculpture really caught my eye
of you day what a delightful post

When you see a young one enjoying such a simple thing with Awe it makes us realize that is something we have let slip and makes us appreciate the simple things in life so much more

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌

So true @tattoodjay, and something you realize when you're around grandchildren, lol Such innocent and honest joy, so fun! Whether its stopping to admire a newly discovered rock or bug...it's all amazing to them. Glad you enjoyed the walk, thank you for hosting each week :)

Isn't that the very truth?

I love the innocence of a child, to see things through their eyes is such a magical experience. If you are lucky enough, they will let you in their world, exploring it, side by side.

He looks like a busy little guy and I will be he is a lot of fun! How sweet is life, when you can share it with wide-eyed wonder?

Exquisite photography! Have a great visit!

!tip

Thank you, thank you @dswigle! The joy you feel being around these little ones is so profound. They are supercharged to see you, hug and run to the next adventure. He did love this garden, although we had to move right along...time was short! Such a sweet blessing they are :)

Awwww! That sounds like so much fun! :) How lucky for those little blessings that you are such a good grandmother! :)

What an incredible post. Congratulations on the reward, Birds.

Thanks @daydays, you're always so sweet and kind. I truly appreciate hearng from you! Hope all of your adventures are going well :) Give my best to Pura!

The sweet little guy was having a great time with Grandmother. Thanks for sharing the Botanical Garden photos- amazing. I hope no snow for awhile.😊 🌺

Hehe, it was sweet, thank you @redheadpei :) Well, no snow that day...but we did have snow a few days later...time to head south for me, lol

My goodness that looks like a wonderful place! I love that pink globe flower. I wonder what that is. Nice shots, really nice.

Actually, it looks like a dahlia to me!

Thanks dahlink!

I have to tell you, this little guy was moving so fast I just stopped trying to read the flower signs, lol Our time was short, and he was on the run :) Glad you enjoyed, thanks so much @owasco!

Wow a 24 acre park. A day would not be enough to cover it all. With all the walking you did I'm still thinking about those muffins.

I know, the place is huge! And, as you can imagine with a little one, time was short :) We'll definitely need to make many more visits! The muffins...lol they didn't last very long!

Those are beautiful shots! It must have been a blast to spend it with your grandson. May you have a wonderful weekend!

yes @sgbonus, it truly was a fun visit. They'll be here this week and I can't wait. The joy they bring is truly infectious. Glad you enjoyed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36