Wednesday Walk Motorcycles on Thursday

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

This is in response to a Challenge by @tattoodjay to take photographs of things on a walk. Things you don’t normally see. I really like the challenge and the challenger so here I am again.

This particular walk was at the Meecham Vehicle Auction that happened recently in Phoenix. It is a big deal in a big venue, State Farm Stadium (where the Cardinals play) that had over 1500 sales entries.

There were a stunning number of historically significant motorcycles, bikes that moved the needle in the time line of the trade.

1910 HD.JPG

Not the least of which is this one. It is a 1910 Harley Davidson that is completely restored. It is the oldest HD (or motorcycle) that I have seen live and in person. Note that it has no headlight, and that it was driven by leather belts. Primary and secondary. It started like a moped, you pedaled it fast enough to get it to fire. So far as I know all Harleys were painted this color until 1914.

Excelsior and Indian.JPG

This pair: A 1915 Excelsior Racer and a 1912 Indian Racer. Both are V Twin engines that very much moved the bar in the motorcycle world. The Excelsior was built in Chicago and the Indian in Springfield, Masachussets.
1912 Indian.JPG

The Indian was a model built by the Hendee Manufacturing Company. The company wouldn't be known as Indian Motocycle until after WWI. Notice the lack of an 'r' in the name. This particular motorcycle used a chain to drive the rear wheel, a significant innovation.

The Excelsior not only had a chain drive, but a transmission with three speeds! They dominated motorcycle racing before WWI.

1915 Excelsior Hack.JPG

This is a great example of a 1915 Excelsior Road Bike fitted with a Goulding Sidecar. Lights, horn, front suspension, and fenders marked the very capable road warrior. Goulding was a significant player in the SideCar market until after WWII.

Goulding Hack detail.JPG

Look at the detail in this photograph. This sort of attention was typical of the American motorcycle manufacturers prior to WWII. Fantastic paint and touches were the norm, not the exception.

1916 HD Peashooter.JPG

We'll close this portion of the walk with a 1916 Harley Davidson Peashooter, Racer edition. A single cylinder motor with no suspension and even worse, no brakes. They were built to go fast and only sissys needed brakes anyway.

Note the paint and finish even on a racing grade motorcycle. They really did build them well.

That brings us up to WWI. Do you think there might be some more motorcycles in my photo collection? I'll be back with more. That is the end of this Wednesday Walk, I hope you enjoyed it near as much as I did.

All Words and Photographs in this post are mine, for better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@sultnpapper All the truth you can take and then some. The monthly BBQ is worth the price...

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Those were some cool shots of the bikes. Paint and detail were important then, now-a-days nothing last long enough for the paint quality to be an issue it seems.

The paint on some of these are just spectacular. I love the little bits and bobs, like the nickle fittings on the Goulding Car. Little bitty pieces that are just exquisite. Of course, I just love motorcycles and the history of them, too. I've got photos of a really rare bike for next time.... I'm so excited!

Wow, those are some really cool old bikes! It seems it would have been really easy to burn your leg on the engine based on it's placement. I guess that is probably the reason you would wear riding gear. Some of them look so fragile. It is hard to believe they were so capable!

Nice eye! Leg burns were just part of riding way up into the 70s. Every long term rider I know has a 'pipe burn' on at least one leg, I'm no exception. I have a scar that's over 50 years old!

These bikes weren't what we would call fast today. Even the large displacement bikes made like 25 HP. But they had to be really exciting to ride. I just can't imagine no brakes, but those circle racers were all built that way. Crazy!

That is pretty crazy. I don't think I could handle no brakes even at 25 mph!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, really neat bikes. The 1910 version is in mint condition. Can't believe they built them without brakes...hmmm something missing? But as you said, only sissies needed brakes. I love the history of the Harley bikes, so fun to follow the evolution over the years. The Indian, Harley's are so collectible. Looks like you had a great weekend at the show!

It was just incredible. There is/was a long term Harley Dealer in Phoenix named Buddy Stubbs. He's died in the last few years and at least part of his personal collection showed up at this auction. I always loved going to his dealership because at least 10-15 of the classic bikes would be available for viewing. Next edition has an example of 'the most collectible motorcycle in the world'. It isn't an Indian or a Harley or even an American. There is a back story and I'll get to it, I promise.

That's some really weird and interesting designs! That leather belt on the first one is just amazing, I can imagine that that idea didn't last too long... getting wet or just general wear and tear would have torn it to shreds I guess...

That Harley only made 8 HP but I can't imagine that belt lasting either. Though there was a machine shop in the little town I grew up in that used an overhead shaft to drive the machines with leather belts between. I was always astounded by it...

This really highlights the saying They don’t make them like they used to
The detail and style if these bikes are so cool
Walking around seeing them all must have been incredible

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

You know I'm a gearhead. Serious gearhead. This auction was like being in one of the best displays ever! I was really amazed. I've been to the Las Vegas auctions in January but this was my first time in Phoenix. It was terrific.

Yes I thought that when I read the post I can imagine your were in your element seeing all the bikes, sort of like me at a camera expo LOL

These old bikes almost look like bicycles, they're so beautifully restored! It's quite amazing to think they drove the dusty streets of yesteryear! Lovely Wednesday Walk @bigtom13 :)

Posted using Partiko Android

They are clanky and elegant at the same time to me. The oldest bike I've seen running is a 1913 Harley, the guy that owns it takes it to shows and fires it up and rides around. It's just amazing to see and hear.

It must be amazing, such an achievement for him!

I love the style of motorcycles from back then. Now days they're all fat and huge. Back then they were sleek, like bicycles with engines. They got a bit more stout after a bit, but they were still skinny and sleek. I much prefer that look.

I might also have to build a side car or buy one for my bike, but to carry like cargo, not necessarily people.

I keep entertaining the idea of a hack. So my dog could ride :) In truth, I'm of the age where my legs are going to give me trouble and I'll probably mount a hack to keep from falling down. Rather than quit riding...

A two person reverse trike is always pretty badass. Then you have space for your dog, and less likely to drop it.

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

These old style bikes are probably the closest to a motorcycle I would go @bigtom13 I'm a big wimp when it comes to them. An electric quiet bike that goes maybe 25 mph is probably as adventurous as I'd get ;)

These look really amazing and I love the look of them.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 448 (04/04/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58