Wednesday walk day! Challenge by @tattoodjay

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

I saw this challenge by @tattoodjay and thought how wonderful!

I walk a lot with my 5 dogs but never really make a point of noticing things around me, as I see them all the time.

With my photography I usually focus on nature so I thought for this challenge, I would look at things other than trees for a change!

This is quite hard as I live in Sherwood Forest and I am surrounded by woodland so I had to start with my favourite tree which is always the first every year to change colour. Such beauty 😍

LRM_EXPORT_218456037200290_20181004_112923202.jpeg

Thats the only tree, I promise! Haha

So Vinnie and I then ventured on to see the horse field nearby. As you can tell here he was fascinated by his huge 4 legged friends!

LRM_EXPORT_218716515947206_20181004_113343680.jpeg

We then passed the local headstocks which were on the old coal mining pit site when it was in use. They have been restored and painted and used as a landmark reminder of the local history here.

LRM_EXPORT_218616907122408_20181004_113204072.jpeg

We then came to a factory site that has not been used in almost a decade after a huge fire almost blew up our little village! Unfortunately it looks like they are moving chemicals back on to the land. I hope they contain them safely this time...

LRM_EXPORT_218522605000321_20181004_113029769.jpeg

LRM_EXPORT_218561166213090_20181004_113108331.jpeg

So that was my and little Vinnie's #wednesdaywalk !

Thank you for coming along with us!

Much love, BB xx

Sort:  

Is there a deserted building in the chemical site? I would be going in there for a nosy about.

nope, the building blew up in the fire! They have put in planning to rebuild it as it is the same company that owned the building years before, but everyone is petitioning against it. I fear it will go through though, many greasy palms and all that :/

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beautifulbullies (bulldogs) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

cool walk

I have to admit, mixed feelings
the abandoned mines sound like a cool place for photography, but, so much danger with chemicals and tearing into the earth!

Yes I think I need danger money for living here lol it can be worrying at times when you have a ground shake as the mines run underneath the houses so we feel every mine collapse that happens deep down. The fire incident was really scary. My son was only a baby at the time and the whole village was evacuated because one of the huge tanks contained highly explosive chemicals and the fire brigade were struggling to keep the fire under control! Luckily it all ended well.

so glad you joined Wednesday walk tip!

I see quite a bit of fall colors in the tree and you and Vinny saw soem cool things on your walk, I am glad you included him in a shot :)

I couldn't leave little Vinnie out, he would be upset! :D

I am glad you didnt :)

Beautiful tree and a beautuful walked.
Hope they remove the chemicals safely away and shift it in a non residential area.
Thanks for sharing your lovely walked. X

I wish they would move them away, but I fear they have received permission to start again. Lets hope they keep us all safe this time :(

A lovely and interesting walk! I love the way Vinny is checking out the horses!

Yes he was fascinated by them 😁 He is only 15 weeks old so everything is a learning opportunity for him. The more animals/situations he comes into contact with, the better

Can you imagine seeing the world through his eyes? How fun!

That’s a beauty as trees go. It is amazing how we almost discard the daily sights, sounds and smells - also a little sad. I’m much more observant when I have my camera with me. I should really take it out more often.

Yes, we all take things for granted when we are around them all the time. I really must make a point of taking my nikon out with me on a walk. Its just hard when you are dog walking to keep stopping and taking photos when you are being dragged along from the other end of the lead!

Thank you for taking us along with you! That tree is so gorgeous! What a beautiful time of the year. Vinnie sure was intrigued with those horses, so adorable~ 😊🤗

thank you :) Yes he is such a sweetheart! :)

Wow, the 1st picture of the tree is so beautiful. You are lucky to have such a beauty around you

Thank you! Yes I am very lucky to live in the woods :) It is my favourite place to be

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74