Nerd By Northwest #34 - "Half-Life By Northwest"

in #webcomic6 years ago (edited)

Nerd By Northwest meets Half-Life, starting with a simple pizza delivery...

Nerd By Northwest #34 - "Half-Life By Northwest"
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


This story arc was something I wanted to do ever since I started this webcomic, as Half-Life was and still is one of my favorite games of all time. This is also the point where I committed myself to doing ALL subsequent webcomics in color, instead of just on special occasions like I did previously.

Ash's comment in the first panel is poking fun at the role of the game's protaganist, Gordon Freeman, who's supposed to be a Physics PhD and yet his work tasks in the game's beginning are those of a low-level equipment operator. Of course the way US government contracts and projects work, having a PhD assigned to the role of button-pusher would not be that unusual given the sometimes dysfunctional and excessively bureaucratic working environment. Heaven knows a couple of my jobs in that industry had me feeling more like tech support than an engineer... 😒


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57