Rain at last!

in #weather6 years ago

tumblr_pcj4jstZR61qz5gj9o1_1280.jpg

I knew it had been a long time, but I just worked out that this vlog episode was the last time it rained in Guildford before today and that was 7 June, ie fifty days without rain.

Now given that it seems widely accepted that the biblical phrase "forty days and forty nights" probably just meant "a really long time" - fifty days is like that with knobs on.

There were people dancing in the street. I had taken a table in the window of the coffee shop because I could see it was coming and I wanted a good view. Several people struck poses and got their friends to take pictures.

It's welcome of course, but...!

There are two things that mean I'd rather the rain held of just a tiny bit. First is that there's a potentially spectacular lunar eclipse tonight, which under current conditions (blanket cloud) will be invisible. Secondly we've long planned (ie before 7 June and this long dry period) to have a BBQ in the garden for friends tomorrow and I'd quite like to get things set up and try the barbie out and all that jazz. And the whole point is to enjoy having the garden space, it might get a bit crowded if everyone needs to come indoors.

Ain't it ridiculous? Fifty days without rain and still, when it comes, not satisfied!

Sort:  

We complain when its too wet and now dance in street because it rains! I for one am not complaining and love the hot stuff.

yes, absolutely right. monsoon is my favorite

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you for the MP3

Just went out to water the garden and it started to rain! Get in!

I was really disappointed that it had to come today of all days @lloyddavis. I as really looking forward to viewing that lunar eclipse at Hatland Quay.

As it was there was not a chance! 😢

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56