Rain, hail and Caribbean habits

in #weather6 years ago

One thing every Caribbean person will tell you:

You will not go outside when it rains, (or hails)


Pexels, Kaique Rocha





I remember this so vivid from just reaching on Sint Martin years ago for the first time. The lady that was bringing me to my new apartment was not stepping outside her car because it was drizzeling. At first I thought it was nonsense. In Holland we are so used to rain that you would be crazy to reorganize you schedule, 'only' because it is raining.

But in the Caribbean it is different and I learned why the hard way.

Yes, one of the reasons for ladies atleast is that rain is a killer for peoples weaves. And I often saw that with friends looking like drowded puppies after even the slightest drizzle. (Or the humidity already, fair enough!)

I have European style hair, this doesnt get affected that much ;)

Now I am not talking about hair, I am talking about flooding and not going outside.


Pexels, Genaro Servin

Because in one of my first weeks in the Caribbean I was determined to go to a certain event while it was pouring outside and I ended up drowning my car.

Yes, water coming over the hood and the car dying. That is how you drown your car!

But also I learned that rocks start falling of mountains when it rains. One night when I was picking somebody up all of a sudden there was a gigantic boulder in the middle of the road on my way back. The boulder was like a meter wide, and it had fallen on a guys hood of the car. That could have be me there.

So I started to be more hesitant with going outside in big rains. You live, you learn





Yesterday was the World Championship soccer finale between France and Croatia

I was planning on going to watch a public viewing location outside, grab a beer and sit in the sun.
But I saw dark clouds packing over the mountains here in Lucerne, and mountains and dark clouds are usually also not really a good combination.

I decided to watch the game at home with my neighbors





Best choice ever!!



20180715_162336.jpg

Because in a matter of minutes, the weather turned from tropical sunny into thunder echoing between the mountains, wind, rain and hail. This photo above is from a hailstone on my balcony with a diameter of about 1 cm. Imagine getting that on your head while being at the public viewing, thanks but no thanks.

Im glad I have learned from the past and stopped being stubborn to the elements!

Rain = stay inside!






Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee
Sort:  

Haha! I had the opposite experience after moving to Netherlands... I wouldn't go out if it was raining... now, I happy to turn up to a concert half drenched!

Thats the thing, in Holland you HAVE to go outside when it is raining..otherwise you wont reach work in time like ever hahaha

how long have you guys been living in holland now? and where are you originally from (ive asked this already I think but I forgot sorrry!)

It must be around 11 or 12 years now! Originally from Australia!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is the Caribbean blues.... Weaves are expensive, not to mention the headache of drying it for the ladies....

The amount of money that people spend on weaves...crazyness! and that with an island salary..CRA-ZY

dude, i was always happy with my euro hair. no hassle, no expences..

but yeah...caribbean blues for sure dude!

I have a feeling this chick is going to come back.....lol...she is officially a Caribbean baby

Amen for the weaves!
I don’t do them often, but when I do, I am SUPER careful with it because it was expensive and I’m not the one to waste money. 😉
Wow - the weather changed quickly for you! Glad you stayed where you were!

That's actually SO FUNNY! To have this kind of weather in tropical places... The extremes are just that much more... Extreme.

Wow, truly impressed by that hail - 1CM! You wouldn't know what to do if you were on your bicycle and these started coming out of the clouds :')

omg OmG!!!! <whipes coffee of her screen, sooo funnyyy , :P love the snidy coment '

I have European style hair, this doesnt get affected that much ;)

ha ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91