Golf ball to billiard ball sized hail came down on us last night.

in #weather6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail_20180721_112926_resized.jpg


I didn't have an actual golf ball but I did have a ping pong ball to use for the picture to give you an idea of just how big these hail stones were...

It was shortly after 1am this morning. So all my pictures of the outside are dark but I got a few of the yard and front porch.


thumbnail_20180721_011418_resized.jpg

thumbnail_20180721_011406_resized.jpg

thumbnail_20180721_011520_resized.jpg


Fortunately we had no broken windows. Bridget's car however took several dents. As well as the hood of Grandma's truck. Bridget's car being white made it hard to get a decent picture of the bigger dents.

thumbnail_20180721_111003_resized.jpg
thumbnail_20180721_111332_resized.jpg

Grandmas truck
thumbnail_20180721_111113_resized.jpg


It was shortly after 1am. Bridget and I were still up watching the radar because a thunderstorm was rolling in. We could see the lighting and hear the thunder getting closer. I'm like, it is going to swing north of us and we might catch the edge of it getting a little rain. Sure enough a few minutes later after saying that I was dead WRONG!

It didn't rain at first. All of a sudden we heard what sounded like boulders crashing onto the roof of the house. It was loud like we were being bombed and under attack. First thing I thought was are those big branches from a tree falling on the house!? WTF!? Then there was a loud BANG on our AC unit just outside the window. A giant sized chunk of ice, a little bigger than a golf ball, had hit the AC.

Well that was it! We both sprang up! The cats started freaking out and the dogs in the other room started barking. One of Grandmas cats was so scared he started howling. Turning on the outside lights looking outside all we could see where giant golf ball to billiard ball sized hail stones crashing down everywhere covering the yard and front deck with ice chunks and debree from the trees. That thunderstorm was here alright passing right over us. Grandma said she NEVER seen hail this big ever on the mountain living here in the entire 38 years living in northwest Arkansas. She couldn't even believe it.

Of course after the storm moved over us dying down a little we had to go outside and check things out. I collected all the big hail stones I could fine. Bridget went to check on the cars to make sure no windows had broken. This morning we checked on the garden and found a few of the tomato plants had been struck losing their tops, but for the most part were fine and the rest of the garden was fine. So no worries. We just suffered a few nice sized dents in the cars and have a bunch of debree from the trees to clean up.

Our neighbors who live on the property across from us weren't that lucky. All of their cars had several broken windows including their windshields. We heard from them this morning checking on them seeing how hard they were hit with the hail. So I guess we were lucky.

As always I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!
thumbnail_20180721_112711_resized.jpg
Proof of the biggest hail stones that I have ever seen!!!

Stay Un-Tune-Ed


Join the TRUTH Party, The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy.

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
Rainbow Man meme6.jpg

Sort:  

Man, glad it wasn't worse! Can you imagine if one had hit you right in your Copperhead finger?

Dang dude glad you guys are alright. I started to type this with a nice hillbilly drawl, but it looks like somebody turned a monkey loose with a ballpen hammer on grandmas's truck hood.
Well, at least the local body shop guy was enjoying it..... I can see him stepping out on the porch saying, "Maw that there is the sound of money fallen."

hahaha! very good @coinsandchains! too funny. I didn't know I would have to add Comedian to your long list of skills! "turned a monkey loose" lol quite an image.

Yeah we are fine. I just checked on our house and it is fine too. No worries. We got lucky. Our poor neighbors though... I might have a follow up post if they are cool with me going over taking pictures of their cars. I still got the hail stones in the freezer HA HA.

Congratulations @hippie-witha-gun! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Damn dude thats freaking huge!! I have never seen hail larger then a fat pea before. Screw that!

That's what I'm saying! I thought they were going to crash through the roof it was so loud. I wonder if I will ever see hail this big ever again in my life?

Where in the states is this?? Yikes thats nutz

Northwest Arkansas.

howdy today Rainbow Man! or should we call you Stormy? hey did you check the roof of the house? does insurance cover the vehicles?

Howdy Jonboy! I haven't seen the roof of the house but the plastic on top being used to stop it where it was leaking was blown off. But tomorrow we will be doing more work on the house so we will get up there and see for sure that the roof is alright. I just can't believe we didn't lose any windows. The size of these hail stones were so big we got lucky. Our neighbors though all said their windshields are broken. So I might have a follow up post if I go over there to see and the neighbors are cool enough like that.

yeah that is amazing about your car windows or windshield not being knocked out! the destroyed windows and damage of your neighbors would be a good post but I'm sorry they had that happen.

Almost look like tennis ball size judging by looks of last picture.

Glad you all are ok. Hopefully not too much destruction of neighbors property.

So far I know all their windshields are broken. I might take a walk over to their place later. We will see.

Those ARE the biggest hail stones I have ever seen two. The dents in Bridget's car can be seen quite clearly in the first car picture. Looks like the surface of the moon. Wow. We had a record breaking flood in Iowa this year, you get this.....someone's frelling around trying to scare everyone into FEMA dependent thinking.

Glad everyone is okay and VERY glad your food survived.

I'm hoping to hear back from our neighbors. They had it a whole lot worse then we did. Depending on our plans today we might walk over there. We got a text from them this morning about their cars all having broken windows including the windshields. Which makes me think they were hit with even bigger hail stones.

WOW! So glad you guys are alright! Now the dreaded cleanup!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90