"Dumb Photographer Gets The Shot" - Webber Falls - #waterfallwednesday

Sometimes while finding the perfect angle for a shot, I ask myself "WTF am I doing?" Dangerous and dumb are good words to describe my scramble down to the little cliff edge where I set up my camera for this shot. It was steep with loose gravel and little to hold onto. There was nobody else around and I had no safety ropes, if I would have slipped, I would have died. I used my tripod with one leg extended as a "hiking pole" to help me down to the edge but really, it was dumb.

20368744_10155508210390629_31786801895649171_o.jpg

"Webber Falls at Sunset 1"

Fortunately I did not die and I can share this photo with you. This is Webber Falls, north of Truckee, California a bit, near Jackson Meadows Reservoir and Webber Lake. The location has been tagged using @steemitworldmap, look for the link in the comments below. The falls aren't very far from the road and the upper part of the falls are pretty safe to visit and enjoy. There are pools above the falls that are great for wading in and cooling off in during the early summer.

This was shot with a Canon 5Dsr and a 24-105 lens set at 24mm. The exposure was 30 seconds long in order to get a silky smooth look the the falls, ISO 50, f20. Two Lee graduated neutral density filters and a polarizer on the lens were used.

Here is a second shot of the falls below, zoomed in. I personally like the top image better because of the little pink clouds, but many people have told me they like the bottom image better. Which one do you prefer?

20414235_10155511517125629_7377646689163088741_o.jpg

"Webber Falls 1"

Thank you for looking and reading. Cheers!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography

DQmS7iQZkDfwDgYNzeaivGVxVsozX35L7B8K9GL6fwmUpXu_1680x8400.jpeg

For #WaterfallWednesday, hosted by @mibreit-photo.
"Webber Falls at Sunset 1" on my website HERE.

Sort:  

if I would have slipped, I would have died

You are obviously doing life correctly. 🙂

I like the top one best, but they are both super cool.

Enough people visit there in the summer that it would probably be a great place to haunt... And a nice place to actually RIP in the winter. Thanks @brandt!

As much as I love the pink clouds, I like the second photo because I like to see the water washing over the rocks and the criss cross detail of the white water making it's way down.

You're not the only one. Thank you! Yeah, it's a pretty cool waterfall, hopefully it will be flowing this spring but we've had so little snow, we'll see....

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

I prefer the top one as well, and I appreciate the cautionary tale. I'm pretty careful as a rule but I know the lure of getting the right angle can lead to some less-than wise decision-making. If in doubt, be like Sam Gamgee and always carry a rope!

Thank you @derekkind! Yeah, I know better... A photographer died falling off a cliff near Eagle Falls/Emerald Bay/Lake Tahoe a couple years ago. I was thinking about him. I actually do carry a good length of paracord in my bag now but real rope would be advised here.

Ugh, I hate to hear stories like that. Same, I carry paracord. I don't follow my own (or Sam's) advice, but in truth it's probably best if I just avoid places where I would need it. I'm not a climber. :\

It was lame to hear. I didn't know him but he was a local so it kind of scared me and I'm more careful at that spot now. I'm not a climber either but sometimes I just can't help myself. Like playing pool, good photographers can see those angles and we sometimes do dumb things to get to those spots. Stay safe!

You too. Let the creative part of the brain have free reign but give veto rights to your common sense.

Haha! Good rule...

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 01:45:58
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 199.40/200.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 17
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=scottshots
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=dumb-photographer-gets-the-shot-webber-falls-waterfallwednesday


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44