The Little Fishy

in #watercolor6 years ago


Watercolor/ink

Once upon a time there was an ocean filled with different fish. All of the fish worked for the ocean. Some harder, some not as much and some swam around the whales who ruled the ocean. Little fishy also worked hard and helped other fish as much as it could. Sometimes the little fishy looked from the distance at the mysterious, huge creatures and swirling, live waves around them. It was quite a sight.

At the end of the day whales gave all of the fish reward for their work. Instead of rubies, golden coins and other gems, little fishy took one tiny, colorful pebble each day. Other fish laughed at such insignificant reward, but it did not matter to the little fishy, for each pebble meant at least one good deed.

One day ocean floor looked all funny and the same. Covered in gems. Except for where the little fishy lived in its tiny, colorful pebble home.  


Song of the day: The Chainsmokers - Sick Boy
Thought of the day:  It will be all worth it one day
Tiny happiness of the day: Herbal tea with honey
 

Sort:  

Hi @m31, a cute story. Thanks for sharing. Is that artwork your own? It's pleasing to the eye.

Hi. Thank you! :) It is my own, yes.

That is one of my favorites so far! Really love the stipple effect mixed in.

@m31 the stipple effect is really "on point"

Thank you so much @overkillcoin! I really enjoy the stipple effect. ^^

Thank you @steemitadventure! Your encouragement means a lot to me. I am even learning new terms such as stipple effect, haha! Had to google it. I had heard of term Pointillism, but that one uses colored dots.

Oh i wonder what brought these thoughts of whales and fishes on :)
Seriously though, one of the greatest works you have uploaded as of yet. This is the one of the ones that i would be proud to display on my wall. I really like the color choice, and have always loved complementary colors in art. It really makes the subject pop. The blending of colors work really well for fish patterns, it seems. The fact that it is so organic compliments it really well.
The dots as well, work really well for the background, as it seems somewhat like seaweed, which is soft by nature. I honestly have no point of improvement for this one, sorry :) It's simply awesome

Oh my goodness! Thank you so much, Emil! ^^ With this one I really tried to make the fishy pop. Seaweed or plankton something, something.

I think and learn about the ocean every day. Sometimes it is exhausting and pointless, but sometimes it is really helping me to grow as a person. Growth part is really important for me.

It worked really well, you definitely succeeded. The ocean is an amazing place. I find it crazy how little we know about it. Feels like every other day, some weird, alien looking creature drifts ashore. There's so much to discover ^^

Another beauty! And the story is wonderful too. A story I love to tell which my students find fascinating is how whales evolved first out of the ocean into land mammals, and then evolved back into the ocean again! (As evidenced by many things, like their remaining hindleg bones in their backfins)..

Anyway, I came here to tell you that I wrote about you in my most recent post and thought you'd wanna see ;) ..:
3 Artists/Writers Worthy of your (and my) Follow

Thank you so much @mandelsage! That is interesting story about whales ^^

It is really rare these days that someone takes their time to look at someone else's blog from the beginning or more than couple of last posts. Thank you so much for looking and your kindness.

My pleasure, really =) ... Indeed, I have actually been thinking that one over, because I've been hopping all over Steemit and I often don't check a blog beyond the most recent posts: It seems there's little incentive for users to do this... It's like, if the post is over 7 days old, it may as well not exist anymore... Which is a real pity! I wonder if Steemit devs are aware and perhaps working on a solution to this...

Or perhaps it isn't a dev problem... Now that I think of it... Why did I go beyond your 7 most recent posts? Because your work is Good with a capital G. Quality content that sucked me in. So perhaps it's on the users to do their best, and to recognise good quality in others... Hmm...

Anyway, thank you so much for upvoting my post, and following me! I shall strive not to disappoint... @tarazkp and @erodedthoughts upvoted but didn't go as far as to follow me, hehe. (In all fairness, I've only just started... I'm sure they're there, hovering their cursor over the follow button, just waiting to see me prove myself first ;P).

o/
@mandelsage

Beautiful work and a great story to go along with it! Seems like all your recent paintings have a stylistic theme running through them and the results are great! I love them all! :)

Aw! Thank you for your kindness @naydenova! ^^ Story part always comes way more difficult than the artwork. They might indeed have the same stylistic theme.

That is bad-ass dot work. I don't see any cross dots which is a pain in and of itself but added over watercolors is impressive.

Thank you so much @erodedthoughts! I have blister on my thumb from all the dotting. So worth it! Haha!

Thanks for the wonderful story, I could sometimes read that story to my child as a bedtime story.

Thank you @markos86! I think reading fairy tales to kids are very important to help them develop their imagination. My mom used to read a lot for us and I remember very well how I just traveled the magical lands in my mind while listening.

That feeling when you have a great pun for the comments section, but it's already used in the title of the post...

It's a beautiful painting! Your coloring is always on point:D

There is something little fishy here? Hehe!

Thank you so much @oyvindsabo! :)

That fishy has all the coloured pebbles! It isn't fair. :P

@tarazkp life isn't fair remember? :P

Really like the consistent color pallet... i could see these all next to each other on a muted color wall. Really badass :)

Thank you @gotmeens! ^^ I actually consider getting these framed and maybe give away to family and friends.

That would be super cool... if you ever decide to sell any let me know.. would love to have one of these guys in my art room on the wall :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95