Winter tree on a sunset | Watercolor Bucketlist ②

in #watercolor6 years ago (edited)

extraa.jpg



Aaaaand I am in the lab!!
I can't remember when was the last time I held a paint brush. Phew!!

I'm back with another WATAHKALAH (Watercolor) Bucketlist and this time, it's another sunset painting. Hmmm.... more sunsets to come, though.


So, why watercolor?

Watercolor is my preferred medium because it is cheaper than oil painting, less messy than pastel and less harder to control than gouache and acrylic. I'm kind of a perfectionist so watercolor allows me to de-stress and just go with the flow. The natural, nostalgic feel is also a plus.

This is the reference photo. Taken by yours truly.

27066926_10210517482325316_1825963894519969450_n.jpg

Here's what I used.

  • Gum tape (for stretching the paper)
  • Watercolor (Cadmium red pale hue, Alizarin crimson hue, Phthalo blue, Yellow ochre, Ivory black)
  • #12, #8 and #4 round brushes
  • Copic liner 0.1 and 0.3
  • Cold pressed Watercolor paper
  • White ink (for highlight)

As I did on my last watercolor bucketlist post, I forgot again that I was going to post this thing. The painting process was so relaxing, I just forgot so pardon the randomness.

① Stretching the paper

I cannot emphasize enough the importance of stretching your paper before you even touch an pint of paint. By stretching your paper, you get less wrinkles and less to no "buckling" at all. So, get a bucket, soak that paper, tape it down and let it dry. Do it and you'll thank me later. If you don't believe me, do your research!

IMG_1832.jpg

② PAINT AWAY!!! lol

As I was done stretching my paper, I got too excited to paint and just forgot to film the sketch for this one. So, to begin with, I sketched the mountain, signal towers and the tree ........ and then just vigorously painted the sky. (Sorry, please, don't kill me XD)

IMG_1839.JPG

IMG_1855.JPG

③ Detal-YEAH! (Details)

My favorite part!! As I was drawing the trees, I remember @fukumineko 's tip on how to draw branches. Draw dem like you be checking test papers.

IMG_1870.jpg



Ya thought I totally forgot at all? Haha, you're right!
But I luckily filmed some parts of the process.
So, before I show you the final product, please watch the timelapse video below.

FINAL PRODUCT! TADAH!

IMG_1878.jpg

Grab a brush and let your feelings flow.



Check out my artistic friends
@jacinta.sevilla
@fukumineko
@noellesevilla

And this amazing people
@surpassinggoogle
@mermaidvampire

Member of
@steemitachievers
@steemartists

Artistic vessel of Furirin



Thanks for stopping by.

See you on my next post



@korinkrafting

SA footer.png
korinkrafting_footer.png

Sort:  

Sobrang galing nik! ♥🙏 lalo na yung tree. You're right, details are the best part! Look at that tree! Waaah! ♥

This post has received a 0.14 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

OMG. Thank you son of @banjo. Korin and I are a fan of your dad. LOL

You are welcome for saying thank you to my you are welcome to your thank you.

Welcome and thank you.

Awesome post, @korinkrafting. I do sense the perfectionism in the post from the start to the end. Ahahahaha! Great job! I didn't know about the preparation that you mentioned because I usually just do watercolor on...guess what... white cartolina or an illustration board. So poorita jones ang peg. Ahahahaha! Thank you, I learned something. And my golly, why you put my name next to idol SG? I feel so honored. Ahahahaha! Thanks for the mention, I appreciate that so much. Ma repost nga ng umabot ito sa mga kinauukulan. Galing galing!

Lol I also tried painting on a white cartolina and illustration board but the perfectionist bitch in me didn’t like the result.
I put yo name next to SG coz yo amazing haha. But really, yeah.
Thanks for appreciating my artwork.

yay ang ganda! ang saya ko habang pinapanood ang time lapse..
at first glance talaga akala ko picture ung painting! nicely done sis!

It’s the first time somebody told me they were happy watching my draw. I’m so flattered. Thanks a lot.

Grabe mas maganda pa painting mo kaysa original photo! ang galing! heheheh

naks naman ! thank you

Heika Kore wa....
Sugoi ne....
Heikaaaaaa!!!! Love the details :D
Honestly looks better than the original pic and nice style.
I dont stretch my paper :( i havent tried hahaha xD maybe i will when i get some tape. Haha!
Upvoted and resteemed.

Coming from you, it makes me so happy. hahaha Thanks heika.
And yes, you should try stretching your paper. You can skip it if you don't like the results anyway.

Woah will try soaking my paper next time. Thanks for the tip

Wow, i love sunsets, wan't to go back to drawing, your post inspired me. Thanks for sharing.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by korinkrafting from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39