More Computer Upgrades and PC Water Cooling Solutions

in #water-cooling8 years ago

water

Time to say goodbye to the good old AMD PC as I have decided to upgrade it to an Intel 2011-v3 platform... not waiting for the new AMD ZEN platform anymore. Since the old AMD system used custom water cooling solution for the CPU and the GPU I needed to upgrade not only the motherboard, the processor and the memory, but also the CPU water block...


water2

So here is the new CPU water cooling block - EK Supremacy EVO, Full Nickel edition. Unfortunately that part of the water cooling setup did not end up the only one that needed to be upgraded...


water3

I was using 360mm x 60mm radiator for the cooling, but because of a certain design of one of the coolers of the new motherboard that radiator was no longer fitting inside the case. So I was forced to either replace the case or get a slightly smaller 45mm radiator, I did the second as it was easier and cheaper to do and the cooling efficiency should not suffer much anyway.


water4

Using the same 3x 120mm NoiseBlocker NB-eLoop Fans with very interesting blade design.


water5

The GPU also remains the same good old Radeon 280X, it uses the same reference design PCB and a water cooling block that is also compatible with the older 79x0 series of AMD GPUs.


water6

The water pump is the same as well, a Laing DDC 3.5 with a Plexiglas top and reservoir on top of it for easy refilling with cooling liquid.


water7

New hose is required as the last time I was using a red colored liquid and that one left red residue all over the system that needed some time to clean and I'm not even going to try to remove it from the hose.

I'm now off to assembling every component that you saw here back together to make the computer work again... should take some time for sure...


If you have a question or want to add something, then please leave a comment below.


Did you like what you have just read? Check my other posts on steemit @cryptos
If you like what I'm doing for Steem and on Steemit you can support me as a Witness

Sort:  

Oh man, you really love your machines :))) I had pure gold in my last platform, still can't detach from it hehhe even he is dead over a year he is still my technolicious :) Couldn't stand the sounds of coolers in the end so he got on fire lol after 12 loyal years working perfectly like a first day :) And I cleaned and petted him more than home lol I really feel for you.... even more my ex double overclocked it while I was at work without asking and that what made him die aaaaaa

I like it that you refer to your PC as "he" :)

Wow, is the water cooled really worth the extra cost? Seems like a great idea I have not yet been able to try it.

Well, it depends... if you are overclocking your PC it might help, if you are not the extra effort and cost for building a custom one is probably not worth it. If it is just for having your PC cooler and silent, even a good all in one solution should be fine for that.

That is good to know thank you. I might start then with the all in one to test it out soon.

One day similar solution will be in my PC :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87